The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A versatile trio of extreme improvisers using a modern approach that brings sax, drums, percussion and electronics together in a sharp and dynamic language, here performing live at Bimhuis.

Live at The BIM

EKE: Live at The BIM (Red Note)
Label: Red Note    
Released in: Netherlands    

"EKE takes off from free improvisation. This method - in which creative process and sound-result coincide - comes as a thrilling on the edge experience for both the audience and the performers. While improvising the players take responsibility for their own voice in the counterpoint relying on their highly individual musical languages that are sharply tuned to one another through playing together intensively. The result is a fresh instant compositions with great contrast in length, dynamics and texture. Aware of contemporary conceptions EKE focuses on reshaping free improvisation using elements of noise, jazz, 20th century composed music and punk. The result is a dynamic forward-moving audio experience.

The three band members met in Amsterdam and played together in September 2007 for the first time. From the first moment it was obvious that this was not a one-night-stand. The flexible trio-setting felt right and musical universes expanded. EKE has been playing and developing amongst others by collaborating with the Boucalee Ensemble, bassist Raoul van der Weide and Gibson's Royal Improviser's Orchestra. Concerts at Bimhuis Amsterdam, Utrecht Jazz Festival, Doek Festival and Loft Cologne (Germany) followed. Their debut CD will consist the best moments of different live concerts and will be presented during their official CD presentation tour through Brazil."-EKE MySpace page

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Free Improvisation
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Red Note label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Naked Wolf (Ex / Gibson / Jaeger / Provan / Szafirowski)
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Polipnick, Luke Group (Luke / Linz / Wozniak / Pride)
(Eunoria Records)
Lindsay, Arto & Paal Nilssen-Love
Scarcity [VINYL]
Derome, Jean / Malcolm Goldstein / Rainer Wiens
6 Improvisations
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Kullhammar / Aalberg / Zetterberg
Basement Sessions Vol. 2
(Clean Feed)
Davis, Matt / Phil Durrant / Mark Wastell
Confront Collectors Series
YAPP (Brian Rogers / Alban Bailly / Matt Engle / David Flaherty)
Symbolic Heads [VINYL]
East-West Collective (Petit / Ochs / Masaoka / Fengxia / Kassap)
Fields, Scott & Jeffrey Lependorf
Everything is in the instructions
McPhee, Joe / Paal Nilssen-Love
Red Sky
VCDC (Motland / Lonberg-Holm / Solberg / Gjerstad)
Nechustan, Alon
Ritual Fire
(Between the lines)
Various Artists
To Live And Shave In L.A. - The Grief That Shrieked To Multiply [3 CDs + Download]
Rodrigues / Guerreiro / Wolfarth
All About Mimi
(Creative Sources)
Rodrigues / Sielaff / Rawlings / Sundstrom / Burns / Mota
(Creative Sources)
Fujii, Satoko New Trio
Spring Storm
Dudek, Gerd
Day and Night
Edelin, Michel Quartet
Swell, Steve / Andrew Raffo Dewar / Garrison Fewell
(Den Records)
Pride, Mike
Drummer's Corpse
(Aum Fidelity)
Templeton, Gavin
Asterperious Special
(Nine Winds)
Karayorgis, Pandelis / Jeff Charland / Luther Gray
(Driff Records)
Cotinaud, Francois Klangfarben Ensemble
Monologue de Schoenberg [CD + DVD]
Trio Derome Guilbeault Tanguay
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Hegenbart, Boris & 19 Artists (Frith / Ambarchi / Grubbs / Brandlmary / &c)
Instrumentarium [VINYL 2 LPs]
(God Records)
Price: $11.09
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5425001461806

Label: Red Note
Catalog ID: RN-16
Squidco Product Code: 14214

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: Netherlands
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at Bimhuis Amsterdam on December 19th, 2008 by Marc Schots. "Blok" recorded at Loft Koln on June 23rd, 2009 by Christian Heck.


Oscar Jan Hoogland-electric clavichord

Gerri Jager-drums

Yedo Gibson-tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, E-flat clarinet

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Blok 3:57

2. Cone 9:15

3. Leap 6:28

4. Gangster's Funeral March 14:56

5. Ramp 5:00