The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The trio of guitarist Halvorson, drummer Weasel and trumpeter Evans in music aptly described as "brisk, strange and articulate, presenting a dry and bizarre sense of humor and play".

Walter / Halvorson / Evans
Electric Fruit

Walter / Halvorson / Evans: Electric Fruit (Thirsty Ear)
Label: Thirsty Ear    
Released in: USA    

"What makes this excursion into improvised mayhem so compelling? There is no reason that I can rationally put forth to explain how and why "Mangosteen 3000 A.D." should be listened to at all. It's not neatly defined as jazz, rock, post-rock, pre-jazz or rife with beautiful melodies and dazzling harmonies. Rather, Evan's trumpet bifurcates into spittle and inspiration, Halvorson's guitar slips and shimmies, and Walter's free ranging percussion somehow keeps it all together. Clean toned runs crash into thick distorted chords, lines shatter into dazzling arrays of tiny shiny notes, this recording can dupe the senses with its spiraling helixes of sound.

Electric Fruit is a celebration, a joyous racket, a jumble of adjectives and superlatives running roughshod on the expected. The songs are ever shifting and building explorations of texture, tonality and expression. There are moments of beauty too, with the guitar providing delicate backdrops for muted melodies. From the cover art of an orange contraption, presumably electrified, to a phantasmagorical arrangement of verbiage for song titles ('The Stench of Cyber-Durian', 'The Pseudo-carp Walks Among Us'), to the free spirited music within, it would seem that such a potent brew could go so wrong, yet it could not be better.

Halvorson continues to reinvent the guitar, playing with an instantly identifiable voice that eschews cliché or formula. Evans coaxes all sorts of sounds that are not usually found in the trumpet and Walters provides accents and beats in places perfectly unexpected. For example, 'Yantok Salak Kapok', finds Evans inventing an extended melody over assorted scattered pulsing percussion, while Halvorson bends tones, shoots out tonal clusters and smears chords around the sonic canvass. Halfway through this dynamic epic, the musicians individual voices begin coalescing into, well, I suppose a giant orange outfitted with pipes, wires and a thirst for adventure.

This is an album that is well worth the experience."-Paul Acquaro, Free Jazz (Stef)

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Thirsty Ear
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Peter Evans
Trio Recordings

Get additional information at Freejazz-Stef @ Blogspot

Search for other titles on the Thirsty Ear label.

Other Recommended Releases:
PBB'S Lacus Amoenus with Peter Evans
The Sauna Session
(Long Song Records)
Rocket Science
Evan Parker / Peter Evans / Craig Taborn / Sam Pluta
(More Is More)
Halvorson, Mary
Bending Bridges [2 VINYL LPs]
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Halvorson / Evans / Walter
Mechanical Malfunction
(Thirsty Ear)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Wooley, Nate / Ken Vandermark
East By Northwest
(Pleasure of the Text Records)
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Trio Derome Guilbeault Tanguay
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Petit, Didier - Alexandre Pierrepont
Passages - A Road Record: Woodstock - New York - Chicago - Los Angeles
Blumenkranz, Shanir Ezra / Zorn, John
Abraxas: The Book Of Angels Volume 19
Rivers / Holland / Altschul
Reunion: Live in New York [2 CDs]
(Pi Recordings)
Chabala / Jones / Martin / Mukarji / Nakamura
Unbalanced In (Unbalanced Out)
(Another Timbre)
Gjerstad Trio, Frode
Hide Out
Bradford / Gjerstad / Nilssen-Love
Threadgill Zooid, Henry
Tomorrow Sunny / The Revelry, Spp
(Pi Recordings)
Double Tandem (Baars / Vandermark / Nilssen-Love)
Blue Moustache
(Z6 Records)
Sao Paulo Underground (Featuring Rob Mazurek)
Tres Cabecas Loucuras
Smith's Mbira, Wadada Leo
Dark Lady Of The Sonnets
Brady, Tim / Bradyworks
24 Frames - Scatter [2 CDs]
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
ADA Trio (Lonberg-Holm / Brotzmann / Nilssen-Love)
Parker, Evan / Lee / Evans
The Bleeding Edge
Chadbourne, Eugene
Stop Snoring
Sharp, Elliott / Andrea Centazzo
Clarinets, The [Anthony Burr/Oscar Noriega/Chris Speed]
Keep On Going Like This
Mezei, Szilard Wind Quartet
Murayama / Rives
Axiom For The Duration
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 70043571962

Label: Thirsty Ear
Catalog ID: THI57196
Squidco Product Code: 14028

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded on November 14th, 2009 at Mengroth, The Thousand Caves by Colin Marston.


Mary Halvorson-guitar

Weasel Walter-drums

Peter Evans-trumpet

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Mangosteen 3000 A.D. 8:58

2. The Stench Of Cyber-Burian 11:22

3. The Pseudocarp Walks Amoung Us 4:22

4. Scuppernong Malfunction 6:53

5. Yantok Salak Kapok 15:38

6. Metallic Dragon Fruit 7:27