The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Sound artist Lasse Marhaugh in a set of 6 powerful sound works realized with musicians Stian Westerhus, Jon Wesseltof, Maja S.K. Ratkj, Hild Sofie Tafjord and Kevin Drumm.

Marhaug, Lasse
All Music At Once

Marhaug, Lasse: All Music At Once (Smalltown Superjazzz)
Label: Smalltown Superjazzz    
Released in: Norway    

"For 20 years Norwegian sound wizard Lasse Marhaug has been one of the leading names of the noise scene. Marhaug has released more records than any other Norwegian artist, and through relentless touring across the world he is well established internationally. Marhaug has collaborated with artist like Kevin Drumm, Merzbow, Enslaved, Jim O'Rourke, Oren Ambarchi, John Wiese, Paal Nilssen-Love, Mats Gustafsson, Maja Ratkje, Ken Vandermark, Peter Rehberg, Otomo Yoshihide and Sunn0))).

He doesn't confine himself to the electronic/noise scene, but works with artists from the world of free jazz, extreme metal and new music also. Marhaug is known for his long-going project Jazkamer, of which Smalltown Superjazzz has released the main albums, like 2006's "Metal Music Machine". In 2001 Smalltown Superjazzz released Marhaug's "Nothing But Sound From Now"; a ferocious mixture of digital overload and analogue electronics.

In 2004 he returned with "The Shape of Rock to Come" - which went on to be nominated for the Norwegian Grammy, and was included on the top 20 list of most imortant Norwegian albums of all times by the newspaper Dagsavisen. Internationally the album was met with equally positive reviews. It was a loud noise album, but with strong elements of rock and metal's energy, as walls of guitar clashed against grinding electronics, and critics and audiences recognized it as special work in its field.

Come 2010 and Marhaug is ready with his follow-up album for Smalltown; All Music At Once. On this album he takes the rock/metal element one step further by using musicans instead of playing everything himself. All Music At Once features Jon Wesseltoft (of black metal band Thorns) on guitar; Kevin Drumm on electronics; Maja Ratkje on growling; Hild Sofie Tafjord on horn; and Stian Westerhus (of Puma) on guitars.

The use of musicans creates a richer sound, but the music of "All Music At Once" is unmistakebly Marhaug; with dense blocks of sound slowly building towards cathartic climaxes. And as often characteristic with Marhaug's music; in spite of the sonic violence there is strong sense of composition going on. Marhaug makes Noise Music, not just noise. Marhaug considers his recordings for Smalltown Superjazzz as his main solo albums, and it that sense "All Music At Once" together with "Nothing But Sound From Now" and "The Shape of Rock to Come" creates a decade-long triptych of the mutated bastard that modern rock, metal and noise music has become. Heavy stuff."-Smalltown Superjazzz

20 page booklet of text, images, and recording data.

Related Categories of Interest:

Sound, Noise, &c.

Search for other titles on the Smalltown Superjazzz label.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $16.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

20 page booklet of text, images, and recording data.

UPC: 600116846228

Label: Smalltown Superjazzz
Catalog ID: STSJ 162CD
Squidco Product Code: 13836

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Norway
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded by Lasse Marhaug at the best studio in Oslo from November 2007 to June 2008.


Jon Wesseltof-baritone guitar

Stian Westerhus-guitar

Hild Sofie Tafjord-french horn

Lasse Marhaug-electronics, piano, scrap-metal, noise

Kevin Drumm-electronics

Maja S.K. Ratkj-vocals

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Born Cold 3:24

2. Blood Of The Beasts 3:48

3. Feed The Earth And Master It 9:29

4. Don't Buy Bread, Buy Dynamite 9:27

5. All Music At Once 7:13

6. Mountain Of The Seven Vultures 13:56

Other Releases
With These Artists: