The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Dave Petts' Remote Viewers, now a septet of 4 saxophonists, marimba, bassist John Edwards and drummer Mark Sanders, in 7 pieces blending rock and improvisational aesthetics in seductive ways.

Remote Viewers, The
To The North

Remote Viewers, The: To The North (Remote Viewers)
Label: Remote Viewers    
Released in: Great Britain    

"Yet another change of line-up in The Remote Viewers, now a septet consisting of four saxophonists (Dave Petts, Adrian Northover, Sue Lynch and Caroline Kraabel), an equally eminent rhythm section (bassist John Edwards and drummer Mark Sanders) and Rosa Lynch-Northover on marimba. The compositions encompassed by To The North were entirely penned by Petts, a matchless voice whose reminiscences of suggestion appear to be somewhat located in certain reed-fuelled parallelisms heard in early Henry Cow (and, more specifically and perhaps coincidentally, in the intro of National Health's "Binoculars" on Of Queues And Cures). Still, the exclusivity of these seven pieces remains visible all over the album's 42 minutes. There is no indulgence for undemanding consonance - not for a second, I mean; the junction between all those tangentially unkind sax lines (sounding remarkably extemporaneous during the freer sections) and the atypical pulse dictated by Sanders, Edwards and Lynch-Northover constitutes an opportunity for listening to fairly awkward music without getting lost in the warren of gratuitous complicatedness. The playing is sensible, respectful of the scores while ever open to further interpretations; the timbres are rightly amalgamated. An element of newness (in regard to TRW's previous outings) is the use of short snippets of environmental recordings: besides steps and engines caught in other selections, "All The Conspirators" begins with a few seconds of a bird intoning a three-pitch code that literally disintegrates my heart, as if the instrumental merits weren't already enough. Get your copy soon, this stuff is brilliant."-Massimo Ricci, Touching Extremes

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Rock and Related
Field Recordings
London & UK Free Improvisation Scene
Septet recordings

Get additional information at Touching Extremes

Search for other titles on the Remote Viewers label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Remote Viewers, The
No Voice From The Hall
(Remote Viewers)
Remote Viewers, The
November Sky
(Remote Viewers)
Remote Viewers, The
(Remote Viewers)
Remote Viewers, The
City of Nets
(Remote Viewers)
Dunmall / Wooster / Sanders / Mapp
The Iceberg Quartet

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Way Out Northwest
The White Spot - w/John Butcher, Tortsen Mueller and Dylan van der Shyff
(Relative Pitch)
Bisio, Michael / Matt Shipp Duo
Floating Ice
(Relative Pitch)
Liebman / Eskelin with Tony Marino & Jim Black
Non Sequiturs
Wilkinson, Alan
(Bo Weavil Recordings)
Wickihalder, Jurg European Quartet - Featuring Irene Schweizer
Remote Viewers, The
Nerve Cure
(Remote Viewers)
Fuchs / Lindsay / Smith / Baghdassarians / Baltschun
The Happymakers
(Balance Point Acoustics)
Ducret, Marc
Tower, vol. 2
Akiyama, Tetuzi / Takuji Kawai
Houle, Francois
Au Coeur du Litige [2 CDs]
Ikue Mori/Mark Nauseef/Evan Parker/ Bill Laswell
Near Nadir
Parker / Neal / Sorbara
At Somewhere There
DuH (Gratkowski / Mezei / Markos / Blume)
in just
(Red Toucan)
Malaby, Tony
Tamarindo Live
(Clean Feed)
Hug, Charlotte & Fred Lonberg-Holm
Fine Extension
Drye, Brian
(NCM East)
Rothenberg / Volkov
Live in Dom - Duo Music for Nicolai Dmitriev
(DOM Records)
Broo, Magnus
Swedish Wood
(Moserobie Music)
Core, The
(Moserobie Music)
Gallo, Ricardo Tierra de Nadie
The Great Fine Line
(Clean Feed)
Price: $15.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 752725028523

Label: Remote Viewers
Catalog ID: RV8
Squidco Product Code: 13815

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded at Eastcote Studios, London on May 20th, 2010 by Anna Tjan.


David Petts-tenor sax

Adrian Northover-soprano sax

Sue Lynch-tenor sax

Caroline Kraabel-alto and baritone saxes

John Edwards-double bass

Mark Sanders-drums

Rosa Lynch-Northover-marimba

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Journey To The Border 3:54

2. The Lure Of Heresy 4:38

3. Saturation Bombing 10:17

4. All The Conspirators 7:28

5. The High Place 4:20

6. To The North 3:42

7. The Memorial 8:22