The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

4th album from the free-spirited power trio of guitarist Raoul Bjorkenheim, bassist Ingebrigt Haker Flaten, and now with drummer Frank Rosaly; intense, driving and demanding modern electric jazz.

Scorch Trio

Scorch Trio: Melaza (Rune Grammofon)
Label: Rune Grammofon    
Released in: Norway    

"Fourth album from the free-spirited power trio that should need no long introduction by now, apart from the significant fact that Frank Rosaly has taken over the drum stool from Paal Nilssen-Love. No mean feat, seeing how the hand-in-glove rhythm section of Nilssen-Love and Haker Flaten has graced a large number of recordings over the years and built a solid reputation as one of modern jazz and improv's most reliable units. That said, the Chicago-based drummer is doing a remarkable job in both keeping the group sound intact while bringing new blood to the proceedings.

As with the previous albums, Melaza was recorded live in the studio with a minimum of overdubs, this time by Robert Mussi at Bill Laswell's New York studio. Raoul Bjorkenheim is from Finland and he recorded for ECM as a member of Finnish pioneers Krakatau as well as with Bill Laswell, Henry Kaiser, Jah Wobble, Peter Erskine, Paul Schutze, Mats Gustafsson, Nicky Skopelitis, and others. He has also written film scores and orchestral music.

Norwegian Ingebrigt Haker Flaten is a member of The Thing, Atomic, School Days, Free Fall with Ken Vandermark and has his own quintet. He has toured with Trygve Seim, Joe McPhee, Chris Potter, Dave Liebman, Tony Oxley and many others. Drummer and composer Frank Rosaly has been an integral part of the Chicago music scene for 10 years, navigating between the improv, experimental, rock and jazz communities.

As with the other Scorch Trio albums, all titles are local slang-words: this time, it's Puerto Rican, with the album title translating as "pure sugar cane juice, something sweet, fantastic."-Rune Grammofon

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Chicago Jazz & Improvisation
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Trio Recordings
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Rune Grammofon label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Bjorkenheim, Raoul / eCsTaSy
Out Of The Blue
Kalabalik (Raoul Bjorkenheim / Anders Nilsson / Gerald Cleaver)
Kalabalik: Live At Downtown Music Gallery January 2, 2011
Flaten, Ingebrigt Haker
Flaten, Ingebrigt Haker
Bjorkenheim, Raoul / Bill Laswell / Morgan Agren

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Double Tandem (Vandermark/ Baars / Nilssen-Love)
(Den Records)
Double Tandem (Baars / Vandermark / Nilssen-Love)
Gjerstad, Frode
East Of West
Full Blast & Friends
Sketches & Ballads
(Trost Records)
Lash / Farmer / Hughes
(Another Timbre)
Trophies (Bosetti / Buck / Nagai)
Become Objects of Daily Use
Lee, Okkyung
Noisy Love Songs
Arrive: Shelton / Adasiewicz / Roebke / Daisy
There Was
(Clean Feed)
Berne, Tim
(Clean Feed)
Fields, Scott / Matthias Schubert
Minaret Minuets
(Clean Feed)
Gratkowski, Frank / Jacob Anderskov
Ardent Grass
(Red Toucan)
McManus, Terrence / Gerry Hemingway
Below the Surface Of
Hi Kim, Jin / Gerry Hemingway
Eskelin, Ellery / Gerry Hemingway
Inbetween Spaces
Malaby, Tony
Tamarindo Live
(Clean Feed)
Vertical Squirrels
Hold True (Accroche-toi)
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Ajemian, Jason & The Highlife
Let Me Get That Digital
Hodder-Williams / Caldwell
Mariner's Way
Dunmall / Edwards / Gibbs / Sanders
Lopes, Luis Humanization 4tet
Price: $16.95
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7033662021048

Label: Rune Grammofon
Catalog ID: RCD 2104CD
Squidco Product Code: 13766

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Norway
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at Orange Music Sound Studios, New Jersey by Robert Musso.


Raoul Bjorkenheim-electric guitar

Ingebrigt Haker Flaten-Fender bass

Frank Rosaly-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Relajo 5:01

2. Bambalán 5:24

3. Fajao 5:27

4. Orita 4:50

5. Melaza 3:15

6. Estinche 3:48

7. Raitru 3:40

8. Iesnu! 10:33