The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Tiptons Sax Quartet: Laws of Motion (Spoot)

The Tiptons all-women sax quartet with drums, led by Amy Denio and Jessica Lurie, powerful and creative jazz with a twisted blend of influences and an exuberant spirit.

Price: $10.00


Squidco Memorial Day 2017 Sale!

Buy 1 or more item(s) from the sale, Take 8.00% Off
(checkout price: $9.20)

Buy 3 or more item(s) from the sale, Take 15.00% Off
(checkout price: $8.50)

In Stock

Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 700261242897

Label: Spoot
Catalog ID: SpootLaws
Squidco Product Code: 13577

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2008
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardstock foldover
Recorded at Terrarium Studios, Minneapolis, MN, April 23, 2008 by Jason Orris.


Amy Denio-alto sax, clarinet, voice

Jessica Lurie-alto & tenor sax, voice

Sue Orfield-tenor sax, voice

Tina Richerson-baritone sax, voice

Chris Stromquist-drums & percussion

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search
track listing:

1. Fallout 4:11

2. Raisa 8:13

3. Sind' 3:13

4. Number Six 7:32

5. Yugo A Go Go 6:37

6. The Shop Of Wild Dreams 7:43

7. Jumpstop 3:25

8. Anthem 5:00

9. Laws Of Motion 6:40

10. Marjan 4:51

11. Mi Yo Mei 2:29

12. Untitled 2:15
Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Denio, Amy
Quintet Recordings

sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"The Tiptons are an all-women sax quartet (who sing!) with drums, 10 CDs under their belt, touring & playing festivals in Europe and the US for the last 15 years. Our music is a high energy blend of "twisted folk" with world music, second line, funk, jazz, and eastern european influences thrown into the mix of mainly original material. We are comfortable playing in any venue, including squats, jazz and rock clubs, universities and prisons.

The group features Jessica Lurie and Amy Denio, original members and lead composers of the internationally renowned Billy Tipton Memorial Saxophone Quartet (BTMSQ), along with Sue Orfield, Tina Richerson and special guest drummer Chris Stromquist (Slavic Soul Party, Kultur Shock).

BTMSQ was originally founded in 1988, named in honor of big band saxophonist and pianist Billy Tipton, following the post-mortem revelation that Tipton was actually a woman who lived as a man for more than 50 years. Many believe that this allowed Tipton to pursue a career in the male-dominated world of jazz. Not to be bound by convention, the Tiptons similarly do their own thing. With a repertoire that ranges from New Orleans "second - line" to jazz, Afro-Cuban to Balkan, klezmer and beyond, the Tiptons create some of the wildest sounds ever to come out of a sax quartet. Their dynamic, playful concerts feature high-energy interaction between members, and a repertoire that touches on soulful music from around the world."-Tiptons

Other Releases With These Artists:
Moondoc, Jemeel / Connie Crothers
(Relative Pitch)
Tamura, Natsuki / Satoko Fujii
Bradford / Gjerstad / Nilssen-Love
Ajemian, Jason & The Highlife
Let Me Get That Digital
Orfield, Sue Band
Nobody's Lookin'
Orfield, Sue Band
Tiptons, The
Strange Flower
The Tiptons
Lurie, Jessica Ensemble
Shop of Wild Dreams
Lurie, Jessica
Licorice and Smoke
Fields, Scott & Stephan Rath
What We Talk
(NEOS Music)
Hubsch, Carl Ludwig's Longrun Development of the Universe
The creators bend a master plan
(NEOS Music)
Fond of Tigers
Continent & Western
(Drip Audio)
Tippett, Keith & Julie
Couple in Spirit: Live at the Purcell Room
Tiptons Sax Quartet
Laws of Motion
Threadgill, Henry Zooid
This Brings Us To, Volume II
(Pi Recordings)
Der Rote Bereich (Mobus / Mahall / Steidle)
Leandre, Joelle & India Cooke
Exploding Star Orchestra
Stars Have Shapes
Adasiewicz, Jason
Sun Rooms
Irabagon, Jon With Special Guest Barry Altschul
(Hot Cup Records)
Lane, Adam Full Throttle Orchestra
Ashcan Rantings [2 CDs]
(Clean Feed)
Blake, Ran with Ricky Ford and Steve Lacy
That Certain Feeling
ICP Orchestra
Jubilee Varia
Perelman, Ivo & Brian Willson
The Stream Of Life
Mahanthappa, Rudresh and Bunky Green
(Pi Recordings)
Ribot, Marc
Silent Movies
(Pi Recordings)
Gato Libre
(No Man's Land)
Decoy & Joe McPhee
(Bo Weavil Recordings)
Platz, Jeff Quartet featuring Daniel Carter
(Skycap Records)
Sun Ra Arkestra
Sunrise In Different Dimensions
Bradford / Gjerstad / Haker Flaten / Nilssen-Love
Frith, Fred
Still Urban
Gjerstad / Lonberg-Holm / Sen / Nilssen-Love
The Cello Quartet
Fight the Big Bull
Dying will be Easy
(Clean Feed)
Murray, Brendan
Tamura, Natsuki / Satoko Fujii
Fujii, Satoko / Bley, Paul
Something About Water
Gjerstad, Frode / Parker, William / Drake, Hamid
Remember To Forget
Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the Spoot label.