The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Chicago vibraphonist Jason Adasiewicz' Trio with drummer Mike Reed and bassist Nate McBride in an album of original compositions and pieces from Sun Ra and Duke Ellington.

Adasiewicz, Jason
Sun Rooms

Adasiewicz, Jason: Sun Rooms (Delmark)
Label: Delmark    
Released in: USA    

"The Jason Adasiewicz Trio features Jason on vibraphone, Mike Reed on drums, and Nate McBride on bass. The Chicago jazz group formed in 2008, first experimenting as a free improvising trio, and later focused attention on arranging tunes that Adasiewicz wrote during his wife's first pregnancy in the summer of 2009. In addition, the trio plays homage to Sun Ra, Duke Ellington, and Hasaan Ibn Ali - a pianist that was only documented once in his life, in 1964 with Max Roach. Sunrooms is Adasiewicz's first release on Delmark as a leader, but he is not a stranger to the label. He is currently a member of bands lead by Josh Berman, Rob Mazurek, and Nicole Mitchell."-Delmark Records

"Adasiewicz has a tone and sense of phrasing that is unlike anyone on the instrument currently active, his sense of melody wistful and attack pelting with equal parts Milt Jackson and Khan Jamal. "-The Austinist

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Chicago Jazz & Improvisation
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Delmark label.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 038153059323

Label: Delmark
Catalog ID: DMK 593
Squidco Product Code: 13528

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded in November,2009 by Griffin Rodriguez at Strobe Recording, Chicago.


Jason Adasiewicz-vibraphone

Nate McBride-bass

Mike Reed-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Get In There 3:44

2. Life 6:12

3. Stake 4:43

4. Rose Garden 6:28

5. You Can't 5:55

6. Off My Back Jack 7:45

7. Overtones Of China 4:59

8. Warm Valley 5:52

Other Releases
With These Artists: