The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Norway's 5-piece Atomic with Magnus Broo, Fredrik Ljungkvist, Paal Nilssen-Love, Havard Wiik and Ingebrigt Haken Flaten in a limited LP reissue of their 2nd release.

Boom Boom [VINYL]

Atomic: Boom Boom [VINYL] (NoBusiness)
Label: NoBusiness    
Released in: Lithuania    

"Boom Boom is the second release from Atomic, a five-piece acoustic outfit from Norway. The cd comes in a rather lovely cardboard digipak in typical Jazzland style with liner notes by Ken Vandermark. 'Toner Frän För' begins proceedings with wistful unison line lamentations which frequently pause for delicate, delicious percussion interludes from Nilssen-Love. There's something of the spirit of Miles Davis's Nefertiti in the piece, but with a less steely and warmer heart. The title track picks up the pace and is driven along by galloping, hypnotic bass and piano allied to some formidable drumming. There's a hint of the east about the music - if the Leningrad Cowboys played jazz this might be what they'd sound like. Magnus Broo's mercurial trumpet solo raises the pressure to such an extent that it seems like there might be an explosion. 'Praeladium' explores Paul Hindemith's melody at length with trumpet, sax and piano shadowing each other like private detectives. The album closes with a cover of Radiohead's 'Pyramid Song' which manages to sound both like a prime, late '60s Blue Note track and a convincingly passionate, contemporary rendering. The same might be said of the whole album. Atomic's music has space, energy to spare and a tangible good humour allied to a classic, modernist impulse. Highly recommended."-Colin Buttimer, BBC

Numbered limited edition of 500 copies.

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Limited Editions & Out of Print
Paal Nilssen-Love
Free Improvisation
Sextet Recordings

Search for other titles on the NoBusiness label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Thing, The
(The Thing Records)
Thing, The
Viking [VINYL 7-Inch]
(The Thing Records)
Angles 9
(Clean Feed)
O'Rourke, Jim / Lasse Marhaug / Paal Nilssen-Love
The Love Robots [VINYL]
Angles 9
In Our Midst [VINYL]
(Clean Feed)
Boneshaker (Williams / Nilssen-Love / Kessler)
Boneshaker [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Platform 1
Takes Off
(Clean Feed)
Flaten, Ingebrigt Haker
Flaten, Ingebrigt Haker

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Thumbscrew (Halvorson / Formanek / Fujiwara)
Rempis / Abrams / Ra + Baker
Perihelion [2 CDs]
Haino, Keiji / Jim O'Rourke / Oren Ambarchi
I Wonder If You Noticed... [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Black Truffle)
Corner, Philip
Through Two More-Than-Mysterious Barricades (Improvizations After Francois Couperin) [VINYL]
Blacksberg, Daniel Trio (w/ Matt Engle & Mike Szekely)
Perilous Architecture [VINYL]
Vicente / Pinheiro / Faustino / Franco
Clocks And Clouds
Wastell, Mark
Caressed On The Brow By Unseen Hands
Live in Nickelsdorf [VINYL]
Jordan, Kidd / Peter Kowald / Alvin Fielder
Live In New Orleans [VINYL 2 LPs]
Lane, Adam / Darius Jones / Vijay Anderson
Absolute Horizon [VINYL]
Tchicai / McBee / Fewell / Kohlhase / Hart
Tribal Ghost [VINYL]
Akiyama, Tetuzi / Tom Carter / Christian Kiefer
The Darkened Mirror [VINYL]
Ughi, Federico Quartet (Ughi / Schug / Knuffke / Johnson)
Federico Ughi Quartet
Mockunas, Liudas and Barry Guy
Lava [VINYL]
Urabe, Masayoshi
(Utech Records)
Weston / Laubrock / Marshall
Furuya Quintet, Nobuyasu
The Major [VINYL]
Price: $26.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 15.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Numbered limited edition of 500 copies.

UPC: 4771906004367

Label: NoBusiness
Catalog ID: NBLP19
Squidco Product Code: 13468

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Lithuania
Packaging: Vinyl LP
Recorded at Rainbow Studio, Oslo, Norway on June 27-28, 2002.


Fredrik Ljungkvist-tenor saxophone, Bb clarinet

Magnus Broo-trumpet

Havard Wiik-piano

Ingebrigt Haker Flaten-bass

Paal Nilssen-Love-drums and percussion

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

Side A:

1. toner fran for 5:32

2. boom boom 10:10

3. feets from above 6:50

4. praeludium 6:46

Side B:

1. cleaning the dome 5:28

2. re-lee 2:48

3. alla dansar samba til tyst musik 7:54

4. hyper 4:41

5. pyramid song 6:52