The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Alto saxophonist Michael Attias leads this quintet with Tony Malaby on tenor and soprano, Russ Lossing on piano, John Hebert on bass and Staoshi Takeishi on drums performing live at the Jazz ao Centro Festival.

Attias, Michael
Twines of Colesion

Attias, Michael: Twines of Colesion (Clean Feed)
Label: Clean Feed    
Released in: Portugal    

"Graced individually by a list of partnerships that includes Anthony Braxton, Andrew Hill, Charlie Haden, and Paul Motian, the members of the Quintet had all played together previously in such bands as Michaël Attias' Renku and Clinamen, the collective Change of Time, John Hebert's Byzantine Monkey, Tony Malaby's Quartet and Novela, and many others. Building on the core trio of Renku, Twines of Colesion gathers the entwined trajectories and prismatic contributions of these powerful and original creative musicians (Tony Malaby, Russ Lossing, John Hebert and Satoshi Takeishi) in a collective exploration of mutable form and combustible narrative. Recorded live, the performances of the eight compositions on this album were picked from a series of three concerts played in Coimbra, Portugal during the same residency at the Jazz ao Centro festival that produced Attias' recent trio release Renku in Coimbra (Clean Feed). Notated sections flow in and out of spontaneously generated sub-groups, forms dissolve and reappear in ever renewed shapes and time-feels, transitions between the pieces become pieces in themselves. In a remarkable example of highly democratic 21st century jazz, each performance is an unique and unrepeatable journey through the written material and each player an agent of power and change in directing the dream-flow. Twines of Colesion sings the song of a very special and risky sort of molecular paradise."-Clean Feed

See all items in the Clean Feed category

Related Categories of Interest:

Clean Feed

Improvised Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
2010 Top 40
Quintet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Clean Feed label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Malaby, Tony Paloma Recio
(Clean Feed)
Live in Greenwich Village
(Clean Feed)
Lightcap, Chris Bigmouth
(Clean Feed)
Malaby, Tony Tamarindo
Somos Agua
(Clean Feed)
Conly, Sean and Michael Attias
Think Shadow
(OutNow Recordings)
Attias, Michael
Spun Tree
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Levin, Daniel Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Roebke, Jason
Every Sunday
(Clean Feed)
Fraser, Nick (feat. Tony Malaby and Kris Davis)
Too Many Continents
(Clean Feed)
Parker, Evan / Joe Morris / Nate Wooley
Ninth Square
(Clean Feed)
Niggenkemper, Pascal
Look With Thine Ears
(Clean Feed)
Ripples [VINYL]
(Clean Feed)
Ballister (Rempis / Lonberg-Holm / Nilssen-Love)
Worse For The Wear
Angles 9
(Clean Feed)
Gauci, Stephen / Kirk Knuffke / Ken Filiano
Chasing Tales
(Relative Pitch)
Settles, Brian Trio
Fraser, Nick
Towns and Villages
Revis, Eric's 11:11,
(Clean Feed)
Lillinger, Christian's GRUND
Second Reason
(Clean Feed)
Haker-Flaten New York Quartet, Ingebrigt (McPhee / Wooley / Morris)
Now Is
(Clean Feed)
Amado, Rodrigo's Motion Trio, & Jeb Bishop
Burning Live at Jazz Ao Centro
(Jacc Records)
Trespass Trio
Bruder Beda
(Clean Feed)
RED Trio + Nate Wooley
(Clean Feed)
Ballister (Dave Rempis, Fred Lonberg-Holm and Paal Nilssen-Love)
(Clean Feed)
(Clean Feed)
Baloni (Badenhorst / Loriot / Niggenkemper)
(Clean Feed)
Price: $15.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5609063001884

Label: Clean Feed
Catalog ID: CF 188
Squidco Product Code: 13230

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Portugal
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve
Recorded live at Salao Brazil as part of the "Jazz ao Centro" festival, Coimbra, by Joao Ferraz at Quinta de Musica Studios, Porto.


Michael Attias-alto saxophone

Tony Malaby-tenor and soprano saxophones

Rus Lossing-piano

John Hebert-bass

Satoshi Takeishe-drums, percussion

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. (New) Loom 16:20

2. Lisbon 10:23

3. Fenix Cluprit 6:24

4. Hunter 7:41

5. Le Puits Noir 11:16

6. The Very Thing 6:48

7. Vitesse de Laumiere 9:01

8. The Maze and The Loom 2:39