The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Guitarist Jeff Platz' Quartet with bassist Kit Demos, drummer John McLellan and featuring wind player Daniel Carter, in 10 free-form cool compositions of great group interplay.

Platz, Jeff Quartet featuring Daniel Carter

Platz, Jeff Quartet featuring Daniel Carter: Panoramic (Skycap Records)
Label: Skycap Records    
Released in: Germany    

"On a previous review, I shared my appreciation's for Boston guitarist Jeff Platz's use of gentle openness, his free approach to familiarity. Now he continues in the same vein, still with Kit Demos on acoustic bass and John Mclellan on drums, but now with Daniel Carter on reeds and trumpet. The music is more abstract, more free-form, but that adds to its quality of his compositions, which hesitate between the intense ("Trinket") and the ethereal ("Dance Of The Minotaurs"), with an often boppish rhythmic basis, but going well beyond conventions to increase the expressivity of his band. And that must be said, the quartet is a wonderful example of cohesive playing, with all musicians focused on the total sound, rather than on their individual solo moments, together building an overall sketchy impression, with jagged lines, raw interfaces, powerful strokes, lots of blank space, yet full of lyricism, fragility and intimacy. To their credit, they maintain this rather unusual and paradoxical approach despite the broad, yes panoramic, span of the compositions. Recommended."-FreeJazz Stef

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Quartet Recordings

Get additional information at Freejazz-Stef @ Blogspot

Search for other titles on the Skycap Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Daniel's, Ted Energy Module (feat. Oliver Lake and Daniel Carter)
Innerconnecti75on [VINYL 2 LPs]
Daniel's, Ted Energy Module (feat. Oliver Lake and Daniel Carter)
Innerconnection [2 CDs]
Platz / Demos / Delvo / McLellan
Differential Equations
(Skycap Records)
Ughi, Federico
Songs For Four Cities
(Skycap Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Eisenstadt, Harris September Trio
The Destructive Element
(Clean Feed)
Agnel, Sophie / John Edwards / Steve Noble
(Clean Feed)
Eskelin, Ellery with Susan Alcorn and Michael Formanek
(Clean Feed)
Mouri, Katsura and Tim Olive
Various Histories
(845 Audio)
Petit, Didier - Alexandre Pierrepont
Passages - A Road Record: Woodstock - New York - Chicago - Los Angeles
Moondoc, Jemeel / Connie Crothers
(Relative Pitch)
Rammel, Hal
Bradford / Gjerstad / Nilssen-Love
io 0.0.1 beta++ / Park / Coates / Schroeder
io 0.0.1 beta++
AYCH (Jim Hobbs, Mary Halvorson, Taylor Ho Bynum)
As The Crow Flies
(Relative Pitch)
Realisation Trio, The (Paul Dunmall / Nick Jurd / Jim Bashford)
The Realisation Trio
Rogers / Dunmall / Bianco
Dig Deep Trio
Eisenstadt, Harris
September Trio
(Clean Feed)
Flow Trio
Set Theory, Live at the Stone
Andre / Tokar / Kugel
(Nemu Records)
Morris, Joe
Tiptons Sax Quartet
Laws of Motion
Nelson-Raney / Mueller
Cutting Off the Edge of Time
Sharp, Elliott
Octal: Book Two
(Clean Feed)
Convergence Quartet (Bynum / Einsenstadt / Hawkins / Lash)
Song / Dance
(Clean Feed)
Boeren, Eric 4tet
Song for Tracy the Turtle - Live in Brugge 2004
(Clean Feed)
Perelman / Levin / Zetterberg
(Clean Feed)
Price: $9.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 673790025456

Label: Skycap Records
Catalog ID: 63
Squidco Product Code: 12992

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Germany
Packaging: Digipack - 3 panel
Recorded, mixed and mastered in April 2009 by Ron Harrity at Peapod Recording.


Jeff Platz-guitar

Kit Demos-bass

John McLellan-drums

Daniel Carter-saxophones, clarinet, flute, trumpet

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Panoramic 5:19

2. Trinket 7:58

3. Dance Of The Minotaurs 5:36

4. A Little Belly 5:53

5. Praise Be 9:20

6. Continuo 6:17

7. Humming Or Whisteling 6:05

8. Pasteable 2:43

9. Hippity Bippity 7:22

10. Ensemble 6:25