The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Dynamic and hyperkinetic songs from this West Coast band with Moe! Staiano (Sleepytime Gorilla Museum), rugged and impressive instrumental rock including a cover of Massacre's "Killing Time".

Mute Socialite
More Popular Than Presidents and Generals

Mute Socialite: More Popular Than Presidents and Generals (Dephine Knormal Musik)
Label: Dephine Knormal Musik    
Released in: USA    

Dynamic and hyperkinetic songs from this West Coast band with Moe! Staiano (Sleepytime Gorilla Museum), rugged and impressive rock with a cover of Massacre's "Killing Time".

Also available on LP.

"My name is Ava Mendoza. I play guitars and stompboxes and write music. Currently I'm based out of Brooklyn, NY. I have played guitar for most of my life and been active for the last decade playing my own music and in many different groups. In any context I try to bring expressivity, energy and a wide sonic range to the music I play. I've toured throughout the U.S. and Europe and recorded or performed with a broad spectrum of musicians including singer Carla Bozulich (The Geraldine Fibbers, Evangelista), Fred Frith (Massacre, Henry Cow, Art Bears), Nels Cline, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Weasel Walter, Tune-Yards, and more. I've played on recordings released by labels Weird Forest, Tzadik, Clean Feed, NotTwo, ugEXPLODE, Resipiscent, New Atlantis, and others.

Friendly critics have called me "Oakland's avant-jazz virtuoso" (Brad Cohan, Village Voice), "a versatile and virtuosic guitarist" (The San Francisco Film Society), "a wizard on a semi-circle of effects pedals, but… equally adept with FX-less technique," (Lars Gotrich, A Blog Supreme/NPR Jazz). I was recently named one of Guitar World‘s “10 Female Guitarists You Should Know”.

My main project these days is UNNATURAL WAYS .


Scott Amendola (Nels Cline Singers, Charlie Hunter Quartet), Liz Allbee, Vijay Anderson, Bran(...)pos, Carla Bozulich (The Geraldine Fibbers, Evangelista), Sheldon Brown, Tony Buck (The Necks), members of Caroliner, Nels Cline (Wilco), George Cremaschi, Tim Dahl (Child Abuse, Lydia Lunch), J.A. Deane, Marco Di Gasbarro (Squartet), John Dikeman (Cactus Truck), Thomas Dimuzio, Shayna Dunkleman, Marco Eneidi, Luc Ex, Ben Goldberg, Fred Frith (Henry Cow, Art Bears, Massacre), Vinny Golia, Phillip Greenlief, Franz Hautzinger, Jacob Felix Heule, Devin Hoff (Good for Cows), Gerri Jager (Knaalpot), Darren Johnston, Henry Kaiser (Crazy Backwards Alphabet), Annette Krebs, Thollem McDonas, Lisa Mezzacappa, Butch Morris, Matt Nelson, Hexlove aka Zac Nelson, Kanoko Nishi, Nick Podgurski (Extra Life), Porest aka Mark Gergis, Gino Robair, Aram Shelton, John Shiurba, SF Sound, Damon Smith, Moe! Staiano, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Raphael Vanoli (Knaalpot), Weasel Walter (The Flying Luttenbachers), Mike Watt (Minutemen, fIREHOSE), Wobbly (Negativland), Tune-yards, William Winant (Mr. Bungle), Kenny Wollesen (Sex Mob), Theater of Yugen, dancers Leyya Mona Tawil, Yuko Kaseki, and Manuela Tessi."

-Ava Mendoza Website (

"Liz Allbee (1976) is a composer-performer who works with the imaginarchic potential of sonic material. Recurring themes in her work include extensions & embodiments and their interplay with instruments, everyday objects, and high and low technologies. She is fascinated by the gutteral, protolinguistic qualities of musical voices and bodies. She performs often with her trumpet, quad-trumpet, voice, and electronics.

She has performed at Maerzmusik, Darmstadt, Donaueschingen, Huddersfield, Ostrava Days, Serralves, Bolzano Museum of Fine Art, Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, Berlin JazzFest, NorbergFestival, CTM, and Berghain, among others."

-Liz Allbee Website (

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Progressive Rock

Search for other titles on the Dephine Knormal Musik label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Mendoza, Ava / Maxime Petit / Will Guthrie
[7-inch VINYL]
Allbee, Liz / Burkhard Beins
Mensch Mensch Mensch [VINYL]
Surplus 1980
Arterial Ends Here [10" VINYL]
(Dephine Knormal Musik)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Edwards, Marc / Weasel Walter Group
Blood Of The Earth
O'Leary, With Stefan Pasborg & Jacob Anderskov
Grid Mesh (Schubert/ Willers / Fischerlehner]
Dunmall / Bianco / Kane
Ritual Beyond
Sounding Music
Liebman / Evan Parker / Bianco
(Red Toucan)
Sandell, Sten
Face of Tokyo
Staiano's, Moe! / Moe!Kestra!
An Inescapable Siren Earshot Distance Therein and Other Whereabouts
(Edgetone Records)
Fields, Scott Ensemble
(Clean Feed)
Swan Dive [DVD + CD]
Booker T.
Go Tell It on the Mountain
Brackeen, Charles Quartet
No-Neck Blues Band
Price: $11.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Dephine Knormal Musik
Catalog ID: DKM09
Squidco Product Code: 12765

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2008
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded at Expression, Emeryville, CA on June 23 & 26, August 2007 by the Norman Conquest.


Moe! Staiano-drums, percussion guitar, guitar, vocals (megaphone), melodica, keyboard, alto clarinet

Ava Mendoza-guitar, vocals

Alee Karim-bass, guitar

Shayna Dunkelman-drums set #2, glockenspiel

Liz Allbee-trumpet, vocals (megaphone)

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Me'T 3:40

2. Violet Smith 4:51

3. Dirt Never Burns 2:45

4. More Painful Than Sex 4:17

5. The In-Between 1:18

6. A Quiet Execution 6:34

7. Chicago! Chicago! (You Wake Me Up In The Morning) 2:52

8. Killing Time 3:17

9. Matt Ingalls Is In The House 2:20

10. Cheap Clocks 5:21

11. (Prelude) 0:45

12. The Damaged Country 5:32