The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

This is Moe! Staiano's (Sleepytime Gorilla Museum) 1st CD of orchcestral compositions for Strings, Percussion, U-bolts, Wine Glasses, Prepared Guitar & Sirens recorded in 1998 and 2003.

Staiano's, Moe! / Moe!Kestra!
An Inescapable Siren Earshot Distance Therein and Other Whereabouts

Staiano's, Moe! / Moe!Kestra!: An Inescapable Siren Earshot Distance Therein and Other Whereabouts (Edgetone Records)
Label: Edgetone Records    
Released in: USA    

"This is Moe! Staiano's first CD of orchcestral compositions (for Strings, Percussion, U-bolts, Wine Glasses, Prepared Guitar and Sirens), which differ greatly from his conducted improvisations. The pieces were recorded in 1998 and 2003, respectively. Moe! Staiano is a self-trained composer/performer who uses large ensembles of mixed instruments as a canvas for sonic exploration. His scores combine text, graphics, and conventional notation, and he is equally inspired by the composers Glenn Branca, Krystof Penderecki, and John Zorn, as well as the bands Einsturzende Neubauten, the Ex, and the Ruins, Moe!'s pieces pit groups of acoustic instruments against amplified rock instruments and found objects to create intense orchestral collages with subtly shifting timbres.

As a percussionist, Moe! has toured the U.S.A several times, collaborated with Henry Kaiser and Amy Denio, and has performed with William Hooker, Michael Evans (God Is My Co-Pilot), Caroline Kraabel, and John Edwards (Shock Exchange). The recordings feature Ches Smith (Good for Cows), David Slusser, Nils Frykdahl (Sleepytime Gorilla Museum), Kris Force (Amber Asylum) and 29 other musicians. The Piece No.7 recording features, sadly, the final recording of bassist Matthew Sperry (who has worked with Tom Waits, Anthony Braxton, Gino Robiar, etc.)."-Amanita Records

Related Categories of Interest:

Compositional Forms
Electroacoustic Composition
Objects and Home-made Instruments

Search for other titles on the Edgetone Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Cremaschi, George / Irene Kepl / Petr Vrba
(Another Timbre)
Rodrigues / Greenlief / Swafford
Sidereus Nuncius
(Creative Sources)
Reason, Dana / Peter Valsamis
Border Crossings
(Red Toucan)
Surplus 1980
Arterial Ends Here [10" VINYL]
(Dephine Knormal Musik)
Robair, Gino
Solo Drums with Ebow
(Bug Incision Records)
Ezramo / Robair / Fenech / Buchler feat. Argo Ulva

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Dahl, Anders & Skogen
(Another Timbre)

Remote Viewers, The
Nerve Cure
(Remote Viewers)
Full Blast & Friends
Sketches & Ballads
(Trost Records)
Mezei, Szilard
(Aural Terrains)
Gonzalez, Dennis Yells at Eels
Cape of Storms
Foltz, Jean-Marc
To the Moon
Machida, Yoshio
Altenburger, Martine & John Russell
(Another Timbre)
Kihlstedt / Bossi / Ismaily
causing a tiger
Ember (Leimgruber / Shcubert / Schwerdt / Lillinger)
Aurona Arona
(Creative Sources)
Mute Socialite
More Popular Than Presidents and Generals
(Dephine Knormal Musik)
Simonis, Lukas
Price: $7.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Edgetone Records
Catalog ID: AMOE2 / BRD 056
Squidco Product Code: 12675

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2006
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Piece No.7 recorded live in performance by Michael Zelner, June3, 2003 at the Oakland Theater Box, Oakland, CA. Piece No.5 recorded by Cuco Daglio and Guy Brenner, November 7, 1998 at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, San Francisco, CA for the OPUS415 Marathon #4.


Moe! Staiano-compositions, conductor, water pourer, siren, dropped objects

Wes Anderson-percussion

Tyler Cox-percussion

Michael Guarino-percussion

Suki O'Kane-percussion

Garth Powell-pecussion, gongs

Richard E. Barber-guitar

Bill Horvitz-guitar

Sue Hutchinson-guitar

Lucio Menegon-guitar

Thomas Scandura-percussion

Peter Valsamis-percussion

Rick Rees-guitar

Bill Wolter-guitar

Tara Flandreau-violin

Jeff Hobbs-violin

Patty Liu-violin

Jonathan Segal-violin

George Cremaschi-contrabass

Matthew Sperry-contrabass

Tim Bolling-u-bolts

Jon Brumit-u-bolts

Viky Grossi-u-bolts

Scott Looney-u-bolts, clarinet

Gino Robair-u-bolts

Chris Sipe-u-bolts

Michael Zelner-u-bolts

Chris Broderick-wine glasses

Tom Corboline-wine glasses

Matt Davignon-wine glasses

Val Estway-wine glasses

Tory Norwood-wine glasses

Dee Ann Schaer-wine glasses

Greg Sharpen-wine glasses

Debbie Summer-wine glasses

Bruce Thomas-wine glasses

Alan Anzalone-sirens

Robert Silverman-sirens

Aaron Bennett-saxophone

Jeff Chan-saxophone

Tim Perkis-saxophone

David Slusser-saxophone

Peter Oberender-clarinet

Mark Chung-violin

Kris Force-violin

Gene Jun-violin

Tom Swafford-violin

Cheryl E. Leonard-violas

Teri Untalan-violas

Samantha Black-cello

Danielle DeGrutolla-cello

Ashley Adams-contrabass

George Cremaschi-contrabass

Dennis Fritts-bass

Myles Boisen-guitar

Patrick Pickerell-guitar

Rick Rees-guitar

John Shiurba-guitar

Eric Carter-slide guitar

Erica Fallen-piccolo flute

Michael de la Cuesta-cornet

Alan Werner-trombone

Jonas Muller-piano

Michael Heinle-keyboard

Robert Silverman-theremin

Ches Smith-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Piece No. 7 - 1 11:17

2. Piece No. 7 - 2 9:44

3. Piece No. 7 - 3 11:42

4. Piece No. 5 (for large orchestra) - 1 9:49

5. Piece No. 5 (for large orchestra) - 2 2:00

6. Piece No. 5 (for large orchestra) - 3 7:04