The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

The 1965 lineup of this quartet was John Tchicai, Roswell Rudd, Finn von Eyben and Louis Moholo, captured in these two remarkable live broadcasts from 1965 in Copenhagen, DK.

New York Art Quartet
Old Stuff

New York Art Quartet: Old Stuff (Cuneiform)
Label: Cuneiform    
Released in: USA    

"This release is truly a remarkable archival find! Formed in the summer of 1964, although the New York Art Quartet existed for barely a year and a half, great interest remains in their work. They consisted of co-leaders John Tchicai (alto sax), who participated in John Coltrane's ground-breaking Ascension album and Roswell Rudd (trombone), considered to be the first free-jazz trombonist, along with bassist Don Moore and drummer Milford Graves. The band participated in the legendary "October Revolution in Jazz", which journalist Bill Shoemaker called, "Arguably the most seminal jazz concert series ever was a comprehensive four-day survey of jazz's cutting edge.... It marked the beginning of the Golden Era of do-it-yourself jazz culture in the U.S." The New York Art Quartet recorded their self-titled first album for ESP and Tchicai went back to his homeland of Denmark to scout out work for the group. Only Rudd was able to join him, so the pair enlisted Copenhagen bassist Finn von Eyben and South African drummer Louis Moholo, who had very recently left South Africa with the Blue Notes; this is one of his earliest recordings. This lineup of the New York Art Quartet performed two concerts in Copenhagen in October, 1965, which is where these recordings were made.

Released on the 45th anniversary of the October Revolution, this historic issue features all previously unheard and unreleased recordings of brilliant and firey musical interplay that have really great, high quality, period live sound. In the 8 page booklet are never-before seen photos and a short, informative essay by writer Jason Weiss, who produced this album."-Cuneiform

See all items in the Cuneiform category

Related Categories of Interest:


Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Cuneiform label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Tchicai / McBee / Fewell / Kohlhase / Hart
Tribal Ghost [VINYL]

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Carter, John / Bobby Bradford
Tandem (remastered) (1979/82) [2 CDs]
Braxton, Anthony
Eight (+1) Tristano Compositions 1989 for Warne Marsh
Dadge, Chris & Cody Oliver
(Bug Incision Records)
Wilson, Tony Sextet
Lowest Note
Yamamoto, Eri Trio
In Each Day Something Good
(Aum Fidelity)
Rempis / Rosaly
(482 Music)
Knuffke, Kirk Trio
Amnesia Brown
(Clean Feed)
Coziness Kills
(Ilk Music)
Melford, Myra's Be Bread
The Whole Tree Gone
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Bynum, Taylor Ho & SpiderMonkey Strings
Madeleine Dreams
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Free Jazz Quartet
Memories For The Future
Boogie in the Breeze Blocks
Brotzmann / Kondo / Pupillo / Nilssen-Love
Hairy Bones
Fefer / Revis / Taylor
(Clean Feed)
Watts, Trevor Drum Orchestra
Burundi Monday
Watts, Trevor Moire Music
Moire Music
Centazzo / Coxhill / Koglmann
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 045775030029

Label: Cuneiform
Catalog ID: Rune 300
Squidco Product Code: 12660

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Tracks 1-6 recorde at the Montmartre Jazzhus, Copenhagen, Denmark on October 14, 1965. Tracks 7-11 recorded at the Concert Hall of the Radio House, Danish Broadcasting Corporation, Copenhagen, Denmark on October 24, 1965.


John Tchicai-alto sax

Roswell Rudd-trombone

Finn von Eyben-bass

Louis Moholo-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Rosmosis 15:41

2. Sweet Smells 6:20

3. Old Stuff 7:18

4. Pannonica 3:00

5. Kvintus T 2:50

6. På Tirdag 5:52

7. Old Stuff 7:57

8. Cool Eyes 7:28

9. Sweet V 2:30

10. Karin's Blues 6:20

11. Kirsten 5:33