The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Lovedale's third album after winning 2007 Jazz album of the year in the Danish Music Awards, this album includes guest reedist Chris Speed and trumpeter Cuong Vu; great playing in a 60's Shorter/Miles mode.

Coziness Kills

Lovedale: Coziness Kills (Ilk Music)
Label: Ilk Music    
Released in: Denmark    

"Coziness Kills is the third album with Lovedale following the Danish Music Award-winning album, Grill Music (Jazz album of the year 2007). The music is moving toward less form and more melody. Less conventions and more subtlety. Less genre and more universal music. Less Coziness. The CD proves a long musical cooperation Lovedale has had with Cuong Vu, since their first meeting on Grill Music. Chris Speed is probably the most personal clarinet and saxophone player in jazz today, giving the instruments a new lyrical sound."-Ilk Music

"Communicative and freely approached soul music is what this quartet is about. The sound is Nordic and Scandinavian though swingin' and the repertoire is mostly tunes by bandleader and saxophone player Jesper Løvdal.

Jakob Anderskov plays piano and is the hottest new name in Danish modern jazz right now. His piano playing is very personal which can be heard on the 2 albums he recorded with his trio including American bassist Michael Formanek.

Jonas Westergaard is playing upright bass in the band when he is not touring and playing with Oliver Lake, John Tchicai, Tim Berne, Michael Blake and Jimmy Cobb to mention some of the many musicians who use his energetic and melodic playing.

Anders Mogensen has been one of the leading modern jazz drummers in Denmark for the last 10 years. He has recorded with Gary Thomas, Niels Lan Doky, Copenhagen Art Ensemble, Ray Anderson among many others. His playing is complex but swinging and his personal sound on the drums is an important part of the music played in the band."-Jesper Lovedale website

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Septet recordings

Get additional information at Jesper Lovedale Website

Search for other titles on the Ilk Music label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Harrison / Feliciati / Vu / Powell / Weiss
Holy Abyss

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Bryan and the Haggards
Pretend It's the End Of the World
(Hot Cup Records)
Drake, Hamid & Bindu
Wilson, Tony Sextet
Lowest Note
Mycale - Zorn, John
Mycale: The Book Of Angels, Volume 13
Yamamoto, Eri Trio
In Each Day Something Good
(Aum Fidelity)
Dijkstra, Jorrit
Pillow Circles
(Clean Feed)
Knuffke, Kirk Trio
Amnesia Brown
(Clean Feed)
Fields, Scott Ensemble
(Clean Feed)
New York Art Quartet
Old Stuff
Melford, Myra's Be Bread
The Whole Tree Gone
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Berthiaume, Antoine
Small Tease
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Bynum, Taylor Ho & SpiderMonkey Strings
Madeleine Dreams
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Gayle, Charles Quartet
Voume 2: Raining Fire
Multitude, Solitude
Boogie in the Breeze Blocks
Brotzmann / Kondo / Pupillo / Nilssen-Love
Hairy Bones
Israelite, Koby
Orobas - The Book Of Angels Volume 4
Denzler / Guionnet / Kinoshita / Unami
(Creative Sources)
Butcher, John / Dylan van der Schyff
Points, Snags and Windings
Koch / Schutz / Studer / Uetz
Live Im Schiffbau
Price: $12.30
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5707471013847

Label: Ilk Music
Catalog ID: ILK161CD
Squidco Product Code: 12652

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: Denmark
Packaging: Digipack - 3 panel
Recordd February 22, 2008 at Manhattan Beach Recording, New York by Kathrine Miller.


Jesper Lovedal-tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone

Jacob Anderskov-piano

Jonas Westergaard-double bass

Anders Mogensen-drums


Cuong Vu-trumpet

Chris Speed-tenor saxophone, clarinet

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Abdullah I 8:27

2. Cheers In Heaven 7:34

3. M/S Invention 9:02

4. Pudsig Pigtråd 11:13

5. Fra Flintholm Til Femøren 6:15

6. Coziness Kills 6:29

7. The Missing Manual 5:40

8. Sucre Trouvé 5:23