The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC


Gato Libre
Strange Village

Gato Libre: Strange Village (ONOFF)
Label: ONOFF    
Released in: Japan    

"On a blindfold test, with Gato Libre's Strange Village drifting from the speakers, not in a thousand guesses would I have identified the players. The sound is introspective and tranquil, with European folk music shadings-accordion, bass, and acoustic guitar floating behind a relaxed, round-toned trumpet. It's about as far from trumpeter Natsuki Tamura's sizzling electro-stew on Exit (NatSat Music, '04) as you'll find, but this is indeed him, joined on a gentle accoustic set by his wife and frequent musical collaborator, pianist Satoko Fujii, this time on accordion, along with bassist Norikatsu Koreyasu and guitarist Kazuhiko Tsumura.The atmosphere is lyrical and mostly subdued. "Welcome Party," with an Eastern European celebratory mood, and "Dance," with an insistently shimmering rhythm and riveting accordion/guitar interplay, both turn up the heat. But it's a lilting, ephemeral heat, like bright sunshine on a late autumn day.A lesson I have learned from listening to Tamura's discography is to expect the unexpected. From the radioactive Hada Hada (NatSat, '03) to the floating, soft-edged Ko Ko Ko Ke (NatSat, '04), he proves himself an artist completely unafraid of changing directions and taking risks.With Strange Village Tamura and the quartet have crafted a gorgeously straightforward-albeit mysterious and slightly surreal-sound. This musical journey proves his most accessible set to date."-Dan McClenaghan, All About Jazz

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
June 2007
Quartet Recordings

Get additional information at All About Jazz

Search for other titles on the ONOFF label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Gato Libre
Tamura, Natsuki
Dragon Nat

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Zorn, John
The Song Project Live At Lpr
Mori, Ikue
Light In The Shadow
Amon: The Book Of Angels Volume 24
Rodiriguez, Roberto / Zorn, John
Aguares: The Book Of Angels Volume 23
Adramelech: The Book Of Angels Volume 22
Kang, Eyind
Alastor: The Book Of Angels Volume 21
Mockunas, Liudas & Ryoji Hojito
Vacation Music
Sorey, Tyshawn
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Crispell / Rothenberg
One Dark Night I Left My Silent House
Foltz, Jean-Marc
To the Moon
Zorn, John
In Search Of The Miraculous
First Meeting (Tamura / Fujii / Churko / Yamamoto)
Cut The Rope
Mateen, Sabir / Frode Gjerstad feat. Steve Swell
Sound Gathering
(Not Two Records)
Swell's, Steve Slammin' The Infinite
5000 Poems
(Not Two Records)
Fields, Scott Ensemble
(Clean Feed)
Freedman, Lori
(Collection QB)
Perowsky, Ben
Esopus Opus
Zingaro / Regef / DeJoode String Trio
(Clean Feed)
Fujii Quartet, Satoko
Umezu, Kazutoki
Show the Frog
Quartet Noir
Davies / Hayward / Eckhardt / Capece
(Creative Sources)
Kaufmann / Gratkowski / de Joode
Golia, Vinny
Price: $21.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 15

Label: ONOFF
Catalog ID: MZCD-1073
Squidco Product Code: 12436

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2006
Country: Japan
Packaging: Digipack

Natsuki Tamura-trumpet

Kazuhiko Tsumura-guitar

Satoko Fujii-accordion

Norikatsu Koreyasu-bass

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Morning Mist

2. Gentle Journey

3. Strange Village

4. Welcome Party

5. Dialogue

6. Dance

7. Dreaming a Lot

8. Then Normal Life

9. Journey Again

10. Wasteland of Peat