The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The trio of saxophonists Mats Gustafsson, Ken Vandermark and Peter Brotzmann in their second Sonore CD, collective improvisation with a sound both nuanced and massive.

Sonore (Gustafsson / Vandermark / Brotzmann)
Only The Devil Has No Dreams

Sonore (Gustafsson / Vandermark / Brotzmann): Only The Devil Has No Dreams (Jazzwerkstatt)
Label: Jazzwerkstatt    
Released in: Germany    

"Sonore is a cooperative trio made up of, essentially, the saxophone section of German reedman Peter Brotzmann's Chicago Tentet: Brotzmann, Vandermark and Swede Mats Gustafsson. Only The Devil Has No Dreams is their second recorded meeting. Unlike Rova or the World Saxophone Quartet, Sonore relies on collective improvisation to generate structure, and as it is a collective venture, roles aren't defined as such-rather, choices are made and followed or abandoned, leading to a character that's not always easy to pin down. It's a natural flow of personalities into sonic areas, utterly non-hierarchical and keyed into the decade-long relationship these three reedmen have enjoyed, transcendent of their respective arsenals.

The opening improvisation, "Straight into the Light," hearkens back to the unruly front line of Machine Gun as it builds rhythm, and one might expect clanging percussive salvos to hit in the ensuing moments. However, rather than stay the juggernaut course, the trio spiral out into areas of long-toned delicacy, collective wheeling and spiky, slap-tongued brittleness. Hushed baritone and clarinet fall away as Brotzmann's tarogato stretches out unaccompanied before masses of panned skronk bring the tune to a close. Sonore are highly nuanced and, most importantly, never "just" a saxophone trio."-All About Jazz

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Mats Gustafsson
Recordings by or featuring Reed & Wind Players
Trio Recordings

Get additional information at All About Jazz

Search for other titles on the Jazzwerkstatt label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Konstrukt / Peter Brotzmann / Huseyin Ertunc / Dogan Dogusel / Barlas Tan Ozemek
Eklisia Sunday [VINYL]
(Holidays Records)
Rara Avis (Ken Vandermark / Stefano Ferrian / Simone Quatrana / Luca Pissavini / Sec)
Rara Avis
(Not Two Records)
Brotzmann / Edwards / Noble
Soulfood Available
(Clean Feed)
Brotzmann Trio, Peter
For Adolphe Sax [VINYL]
(Cien Fuegos)
DKV Trio + Gustafsson / Nilssen-Love / Pupillo
(Trost Records)
Vandermark, Ken and Mats Gustafsson
(Corbett vs. Dempsey)
Brotzmann, Peter
Solo At Dobialab

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Le Poison Qui Rend Fou (Expanded & Remastered) [2 CDs]
Blaser, Samuel Quartet
As The Sea
Wintsch, Weber, Wolfarth
The Holistic Worlds Of [VINYL]
Morris, Joe
Perpetual Frontier The Properties of Free Music [BOOK]
(Riti Publishing)
Braxton, Anthony
Eight (+1) Tristano Compositions 1989 for Warne Marsh
Improvised Music by Babies
Edwards, Marc / Weasel Walter Group
Blood Of The Earth
Konitz / Cheek / Furic Leibovici
Jugendstil II
Gjerstad / Lonberg-Holm / Zerang
Sugar Maple
Coleman, Steve and Five Elements
Harvesting Semblances and Affinities
(Pi Recordings)
MacLean, Steve
Expressions on Piano
(Recommended Records)
Kodjabashia, Nikola
Explosion of a Memory
(Recommended Records)
Little Women
(Aum Fidelity)
Butcher / Binder
Under The Roof
Hooker, William Trio
Yearn for Certainty
Parker, William
At Somewhere There
Ino / Imai / Dorner / Tanaka
Rostbestandige Zeit [2 CDs]
Leandre / Houle / Strid
Live at Sons D'Hiver
Liebman / Evan Parker / Bianco
(Red Toucan)
Price: $14.94
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 4250079757817

Label: Jazzwerkstatt
Catalog ID: JW0013
Squidco Product Code: 12387

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2007
Country: Germany
Packaging: Jewel Tray and carboard insert outside of tray
Philharmonie, Berlin, September 27, 2006.


Mats Gustafsson-baritone sax, slide sax

Ken Vandermark-tenor, baritone sax, Bb clarinet

Peter Brotzmann-tenor, alto sax, Tarogato, Bb clarinet

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Straight Into the Light 15:31

2. Open Shore 9:13

3. First Feedback 8:25

4. Two Birds in a Feather 5:06

5. Driftwood 4:55

6. Only the Devil Has No Dreams 6:53