The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

2 CDs of trumpeter Leo Smith's groups: one with Vijay Iyer, Pheeroan AkLaff, Don Moye & John Lindberg at Vision Fest XIII; and studio recording with a larger group including Nels Cline.

Smith, Wadada Leo
Spiritual Dimensions

Smith, Wadada Leo : Spiritual Dimensions (Cuneiform)
Label: Cuneiform    
Released in: USA    

"Spiritual Dimensions is a double album that features two very special groups, both filled with truly great and legendary musicians! Both discs were recorded live to capture the energy and spirit that Smith's shows have.

The first disc is by his Golden Quintet. This disc is a modern/avant jazz release that has some distinctive electric touches and features many of the hallmarks of Wadada's work; space, depth, melody and abstraction:

The second disc is the first-ever release of Wadada's Organic group and is a completely different creature. It's a fully electric, four guitar, creative, bad-ass beast with slinky grooves, but the same hallmarks run through this set as well:

The easiest comparison between the albums can be drawn by listening to the two different versions of the composition South Central L.A. Kulture, which appears at the last track by the Golden Quintet and as the first track by Organic; its inclusion here in two versions is a good example of how Smith's compositions can mutate to embrace new settings."-Cuneiform Records

"...a welcome reminder of Smith's continued importance in the continuum of creative improvised music." - All About Jazz

"...not only as inventive and adventurous as he was when he was a younger player, but his creativity and ability to direct a band into new territory is actually farther reaching than ever before. This is brilliant work."-All Music Guide

See all items in the Cuneiform category

Related Categories of Interest:


Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Smith, Leo
Cline, Nels
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
2009 Top Sellers
Recorindgs from the NYC Vision Festival

Search for other titles on the Cuneiform label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Scarcity Of Tanks
Ringleader Of Lies
(Total Life Society Records)
Thollem / Oliveros / Cline
Molecular Affinity [VINYL + DOWNLOAD]
Lindberg, John BC3 (Lindberg / Harrison / Norton)
Born In An Urban Ruin
(Clean Feed)
Lee, Okkyung / Bill Orcutt
Live at Cafe OTO [VINYL]
Rudolph, Adam / GO:Organic Guitar Orchestra
Turning Towards The Light
Lindberg, John / Anil Eraslan
Juggling Kukla [VINYL]
Thollem / Wimberly / Cline
Radical Empathy
(Relative Pitch)
Sanchez, Angelica / Wadada Leo Smith
Twine Forest
(Clean Feed)
Iyer, Vijay & Mike Ladd
Holding It Down: The Veterans' Dreams Project
(Pi Recordings)
Papasoff, Charles
(Red Toucan)
Edwards, John / Okkyung Lee
White Cable, Black Wires
Heads Full Of Poison

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Full Blast (Brotzmann / Pliakas / Wertmuller)
(Trost Records)
Trio X
Live At Kerrytown
ISKRA 1903 (Rutherford / Bailey / Guy)
Chapter One (1970-2) [3 CDs]
Sax Ruins
Bang, Billy
Da Bang!
Digital Primitives
Lipsomuch & Soul Searchin' [2 CDs]
(Hopscotch Records)
Moondoc, Jemeel / Connie Crothers
(Relative Pitch)
Halvorson / Evans / Walter
Mechanical Malfunction
(Thirsty Ear)
Gonzalez Yells at Eels, Dennis
Resurrection and Life
Lindsay / Mendoza / Smith / Walter
(Balance Point Acoustics)
Smith, Wadada Leo Organic
Heart's Reflection [2 CDs]
Tyler, Charles
Eastern Man Alone
Zorn, John
In Search Of The Miraculous
Melford, Myra's Be Bread
The Whole Tree Gone
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Price: $19.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 6.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 045775029023

Label: Cuneiform
Catalog ID: RUNE 290/291
Squidco Product Code: 12061

Format: 2 CDs
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
CD 1 recorded live at Vision Festival XIII, June 13, 2008, NYc. CD 2 recorded at Firehouse 12, April 17, 2009, New Haven, CT.


CD 1:

Wadada Leo Smith-trumpet

Vijay Iyer-piano, synthesizer

John Lindberg-bass

Pheeroan AkLaff-drums

Don Moye-drums

CD 2:

Wadada Leo Smith-trumpet

Nels Cline-guitar

Michael Gregory-guitar

Brandon Ross-guitar

Lamar Smith-guitar

Okkyung Lee-cello

John Lindberg-double bass

Skuli Sverrisson-electric bass

Pheeroan AkLaff-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

CD 1:

1. Al-Shadhili's Litany Of The Sea: Sunshine 12:59

2. Pacifica 5:49

3. Umar At The Dome Of The Rock, Parts 1 & 2 14:56

4. Crossing Sirat 6:22

5. South Central L.A. Kulture 15:42

CD 2:

1. South Central L.A. Kulture 12:37

2. Angela Davis 19:23

3. Organic 18:09

4. Joy: Spiritual Fire: Joy 13:34