The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Mark O'Leary's 9th release on Leo Records is a trio with drummer Kenny Wollesen and Zorn compatriot Jamie Saft, synthetic jazz in an ECM mold with rich, slowly unfolding soundscapes.

O'Leary / Wollesen / Saft
The Synth Show

O'Leary / Wollesen / Saft: The Synth Show (Leo)
Label: Leo    
Released in: Great Britain    

"Irish guitarist Mark O'Leary has built a nice relationship with Leo Records over the last few years, having recorded for the label with Mat Maneri, Matthew Shipp, Eyvind Kang, Uri Caine, Steve Swallow and others. O'Leary seems to favor the trio setting and enjoys throwing himself into new contexts. His ninth Leo release, The Synth Show, with Kenny Wollesen on percussion and Jamie Saft on synthesizer, may be his most surprising outing yet.

Saft and Wollesen are certainly knowledgeable about jazz, but tend to step further from the tradition than many of O'Leary's past associates. As such, The Synth Show is always in a slow and easy flux. The title doesn't put forth a lead player, but it does suggest a lead instrument and Saft's axes (analog synthesizers seem to be used through much or all of the record) very much set the tone for the session.

At times the trio doesn't seem to be playing together at all: jazz licks and electronic gurgles swirl over slow marches and washes. Then two of the three will seem to lock in, creating an inverted pyramid with the 'soloist' in the rear. But they do this with an easiness; they're not wandering looking for each other but wandering together, like a search party dividing up patches of ground together. It's spacey in a mellow Krautrock way, or jazzy in a trippy fusion way. Either way, it's an easy but unusual listen. [...]"-Kurt Gottschalk, All About Jazz

See all items in the Leo Records category

Related Categories of Interest:

Leo Records

Improvised Music
Piano & Keyboards
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Trio Recordings

Get additional information at All About Jazz

Search for other titles on the Leo label.

Other Recommended Releases:
New Zion Trio (Jamie Saft / Brad Jones / Craig Santiago)
Slobber Pup
Black Aces [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Rarenoise Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Various Artists
Sculpted Sound
Dresser, Mark
Sonic Brotherhood: DTFP by Five - Israel 2009
Black / Dunn / Noriega / Speed
Endangered Blood
Other Dimensions in Music featuring Fay Victor
Kaiso Stories
Zinman, Eric & Laurence Cook
Double Action
Rogers / Dunmall
Hodder-Williams / Caldwell
Mariner's Way
O'Leary / Shipp
Dunmall, Paul
Deep [DVD]
Avram, Ana-Maria / Dumitrescu, Iancu
iO Quartet
(Edition Modern)
The Construction Of Fear
(Creative Sources)
O'Gallagher, John Trio
Dirty Hands
(Clean Feed)
Frith, Fred & Danielle Palardy Roger
Pas de deux nouveau
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Avram, Ana Maria / Iancu Dumitrescu
Live in Spark (MN)
(Edition Modern)
Smith, Wadada Leo
Haino, Keiji / Akita, Masami
Kikuri - Pulverized Purple
Trio X
AIR: Above and Beyond
Golia / Josephson / Kaiser / Keneally / Morris / Smith / Walter
Healing Force: The Songs of Albert Ayler
Avram, Ana-Maria / Dumitrescu, Iancu
(Edition Modern)
Price: $12.68
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5024792052127

Label: Leo
Catalog ID: CD LR 521
Squidco Product Code: 12036

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2008
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded April 2005 at Frank Booth Studio, Brooklyn, NY by Jamie Saft.


Mark O'Leary-guitar, E-Bow, soundscapes

Kenny Wollesen-drums, percussion

Jamie Saft-synt

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Eve 7:22

2. Persona 2:13

3. Into The Abyss 5:51

4. Tuzla 3:24

5. Sky Kink 10:02

6. Texas 5:12

7. Elysian Plains 4:02

8. Critical Mass 2:28

9. Oxygen 7:35

10. For Ingmar Bergman 5:11

11. Dr. Who's Theme, Playing The Himalayas 3:49