The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Ex guitarist Andy Moor teams up with turntablist dj /rupture to make the 1st release on Unsuitable Records, a series of live improvisations from venues across Europe.

dj /rupture & Andy Moor

dj /rupture & Andy Moor: Patches (Unsuitable)
Label: Unsuitable    
Released in: The Netherlands    

"A collaboration between beloved experimentalist DJ/rupture and guitarist Andy Moor (of almighty Dutch post-punk outfit the Ex) is one of those grand ideas that's so soaked with such record-geek pretense it could easily end up a crispy black mess. Luckily, Moor is well indoctrinated to the ways of the Ex, a band whose mind blowing collaborations are the stuff of lore, and his work with turntablist rebel warrior DJ /rupture skirts the potential pitfall of over-indulgence. It starts out innocuously enough: DJ /rupture mostly owns throbbing dubstep number "Hot Pink Orleans," with Moor adding brittle, melodic accompaniment. It's without a wrinkle, so much so that it's hard to believe it comes from two different brains. As the record progresses, DJ /rupture slowly leaves behind dubstep, letting somber, verging on angry, guitar-centric tunes take the fore. The entrancing "The Sheep Look Up," the mostly beatless "One Hundred Month Bloom," and its sly nick of the melody from "Today," the slow, acerbic guitar build-up of "Broken Minded." Amazing, apocalyptic stuff."- Michael Byrne, Flavorwire

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Guitarists, &c.
Duo Recordings

Get additional information at Flavorwire

Search for other titles on the Unsuitable label.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Bynum, Taylor Ho & SpiderMonkey Strings
Madeleine Dreams
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Dixon, Bill
Tapestries for Small Orchestra
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Reed, Mike
About Us
(482 Music)
Swan Dive [DVD + CD]
Invenio Ergo (Prevost / Lambert / Wright)
Sum [2 CDs]
Empty Cage Quartet (Mears / Tiner / Kikuchi / Johnson)
Live At The Sanctuary [DVD]
Maroney, Denman With Bleckmann / Hirsch
Music For Words, Perhaps: The Poetry of W B Yeates and Wallace Stevens
Gonzalez, Dennis Yells At Eels featuring Rodrigo Amado
The Great Bydgoszcz Concert
Nuts (Duboc / Siddik / Oki / Lasserre / Sato)
Symphony for Old and New Dimensions
McLean, Colin & Andy Moor
Everything But the Beginning
Red Square
Thirty Three
Gjerstad / Edwards / Sanders
Circuit: Electro-Acoustic Ensemble
Midorikawa, Keiki
Complete Grune Revolution
Bailey, Derek
Barcelona Chronicles: All Thumbs [DVD]
Gauguet / Hautzinger / Lehn
Close Up
Tapscott, Horace
The Dark Tree [2 CDs]
Mitchell, Roscoe
L-R-G/ The Maze/ S Ii Examples
H-Alpha (Krauss / Mori / Black)
Red Sphere
Perowsky, Ben
Esopus Opus
Dunmall, Paul
Deep [DVD]
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 884501056021

Label: Unsuitable
Catalog ID: unsuitable01
Squidco Product Code: 11977

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: The Netherlands
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve
Recorded live in March 2007 by Andy Moore and dj /rupture in: Amsterdam - ot301; Tourcoing - Grand Mix; Orleans - Azimut 854; Reims - La Cartonnerie.


Andy Moor-guitar

dj / rupture (Jace Clayton)-turntables, fx

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Hot Pink Orleans 5:52

2. Sometime It Can Be Difficult To 4:36

3. Chisanga 4:51

4. Ella Speed 4:04

5. The Sheep Look Up 4:58

6. One Hundred Month Bloom 3:49

7. Jimmy Rogers 4:19

8. Broken Minded 4:00

9. Mateso 4:48

10. Nawura 2:13

11. Our Enemies Have Watches But We Have Time 6:05

12. Is It Going 3:42

13. Davids Weather 0:29

14. Mercury Shake 0:18

15. Tidal 5:58

16. Tracy 2:13