The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The trio of Portuguese saxophonist Amado with Kent Kessler and Paal Nilssen-Love return for a 2nd album, an homage to Italian painter Giorgio de Chirico with a nod to Oliver Nelson.

Amado / Kessler / Nilssen-Love
The Abstract Truth

Amado /  Kessler / Nilssen-Love: The Abstract Truth (European Echoes)
Label: European Echoes    
Released in: USA    

Following 2006's Teatro, his first internationally-acclaimed trio recording with North American double-bassist Kent Kessler and Norwegian drummer Paal Nilssen-Love, Portuguese sax player Rodrigo Amado presents The Abstract Truth on his very own European Echoes imprint. The album works as an homage to Italian painter Giorgio de Chirico, while nodding to the legendary Oliver Nelson recording of the same name -- using improvisation as a complex and demanding discipline that reveals all of what a musician is and can become. Amado is one of the top improvisers in Portugal. Followers of his work refer to him as an original player able to balance the dynamics and intense energy of free-playing with a distinct melodic sense that brings to mind the great tradition of the instrument, from Parker to Rollins. Kessler and Nilssen-Love are two of the most in-demand and sought-after improvisers on the scene, working with the likes of Peter Brotzmann (both are members of the acclaimed Brotzmann Tentet), Ken Vandermark, Joe McPhee, Evan Parker, Mats Gustafsson and Fred Anderson, amongst many others.

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Paal Nilssen-Love
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the European Echoes label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Lopes, Luis Humanization 4tet
Live in Madison
Amado, Rodrigo's Motion Trio, & Jeb Bishop
Burning Live at Jazz Ao Centro
(Jacc Records)
Amado, Rodrigo
Motion Trio
(European Echoes)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Mazurek, Rob Exploding Star Orchestra Featuring Roscoe Mitchell
Matter Anti-Matter, Sixty-Three Moons Of Jupiter & Electronic Works [2 CDs]
Vandermark's, Ken Topology Nonet w/ Joe McPhee
Impressions of Po Music
Gonzalez, Dennis Yells at Eels
Colorado at Clinton
Dresser, Mark Quintet
(Clean Feed)
Slobber Pup
Black Aces [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Rarenoise Records)
S.O.S. (John Surman, Mike Osborne, Alan Skidmore)
Looking For The Next One [2 CDs]
Perelman, Ivo / Matthew Shipp / William Parker / Gerald Cleaver
Lama + Chris Speed
(Clean Feed)
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Plays Monk (Amendola / Goldberg / Hoff)
Plays Monk
(Long Song Records)
McPhee, Joe
The Loneliest Woman [CD EP]
(Corbett vs. Dempsey)
Mostly Other People Do the Killing
Slippery Rock
(Hot Cup Records)
Attias, Michael
Spun Tree
(Clean Feed)
Haker-Flaten, Ingebrigt Chicago Sextet
Live From Jazzfest Saalfeleden 2011 [VINYL]
Eisenstadt, Haris
Canada Day Octet
(482 Music)
Lacy, Steve
The Sun
(Trost Records)
ADA Trio (Lonberg-Holm / Brotzmann / Nilssen-Love)
Baloni (Badenhorst / Loriot / Niggenkemper)
(Clean Feed)
Fernandez, Agusti & Joan Saura
Exploding Star Orchestra
Stars Have Shapes
Brennan / Doran / Amstad / Heral
Triangulation - Whirligigs
Price: $16.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5609063500035

Label: European Echoes
Catalog ID: EE 003CD
Squidco Product Code: 11955

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: USA
Packaging: Digipack - 3 panel
Recorded and mixed by Nelson Carvalho at Estudios Vlentim de Carvalho, Lisbon on July 14, 2008.


Rodrigo Amado-tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone

Kent Kessler-double bass

Paal Nilssen-Love-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Intro / The Red Tower 4:42

2. Clouds And Shadows 4:38

3. Human Condition 5:15

4. The Kiss 9:49

5. Universe Unmasked 7:14

6. A Dream Transformed 7:10

7. The Enchanted Room 6:45

8. Enigma Of The Arrival 7:05