The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Chicago vibraphonist Jason Adasiewicz's Rolldown with Josh Berman, Aram Shelton, Jason Roebke & Frank Rosaly in their 2nd excellent 60s/Blue Note influenced album.

Adasiewicz, Jason Rolldown

Adasiewicz, Jason Rolldown: Varmint (Cuneiform)
Label: Cuneiform    
Released in: USA    

"Led by vibraphonist and composer Jason Adasiewicz [a-dah-shev-its], Varmint is Rolldown's second release. A prolific member of Chicago's jazz and improvised music scene, Jason is quickly gaining widespread recognition through his extensive work as a sideman as well as such high-profile honors as his strong showing in DownBeat's 2007, 2008 and 2009 "Critics' Poll - Rising Star" Vibes category.

The band has been active for over 5 years and features stalwarts from Chicago's vibrant jazz/new music community. Their sound combines Blue Note's classic, avant-leaning '60s albums with contemporary drive, swing, energy, and attack. Varmint features six new compositions by Adasiewicz and a tune written by Andrew Hill.

The music on Varmint is swinging and accessible but also very modern and forward-looking. Recommended if you like: Jackie McLean, Bobby Hutcherson, Andrew Hill, Grachan Moncur III as well as other, newer, good things that make Stanley Crouch shake his fists skyward and shout aloud, "This isn't jazz"."-Cuneiform

See all items in the Cuneiform category

Related Categories of Interest:


Improvised Music
Chicago Jazz & Improvisation
Quintet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Cuneiform label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Shelton / Lonberg-Holm / Rosaly
(Singlespeed Music)
Roebke, Jason
Every Sunday
(Clean Feed)
Ton Trio II (Shelton / Brown / Vittum)
On and On
(Singlespeed Music)
Adasiewicz's, Jason Sun Rooms
From The Region
Roebke, Jason / Tobias Delius
(Not Two Records)
Gregorio / Roebke / Labycz
Without Titles
Tea Music
(Allos Musica)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Gjerstad, Frode / Jon Rune Strom / Paal Nilssen-Love
Steam In the Casa
Ullmann, Gebhard / Achim Kaufmann
Zorn, John
At The Gates Of Paradise
Arrive: Shelton / Adasiewicz / Roebke / Daisy
There Was
(Clean Feed)
Adasiewicz, Jason
Sun Rooms
A Vacant Lot
(Drip Audio)
Swell's, Steve Slammin' The Infinite
5000 Poems
(Not Two Records)
Mayas, Magda
(Another Timbre)
Courvoisier, Sylvie / Mark Feldman
To Fly To Steal
ElSaffar, Amir and Hafez Modirzadeh
Radif Suite
(Pi Recordings)
(Intransitive Recordings)
Ochs, Larry Quintet
Stone Shift
Kassap / Tchamitchian / Lopez / Lavant
Ascension, Tombeau of John Coltrane
Leandre, Joelle / Lewis, George
Transatlantic Visions
Wiens, Rainer
Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors
(Ambiances Jazz)
W.O.O. Presents Mambo Mantis
Connecting Branches
(Sweetstuff Media)
Morris, Joe
Smith, Wadada Leo
Spiritual Dimensions
Kowald / Golia
Price: $14.95
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 045775029221

Label: Cuneiform
Catalog ID: RUNE 292CD
Squidco Product Code: 11952

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded by Mark Haines at Electrical Audio, Chicago, IL August 2008.


Jason Adasiewicz-vibraphone

Josh Berman-cornet

Aram Shelton-alto saxophone

Jason Roebke-bass

Frank Rosaly-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Green Grass 6:01

2. Varmint 8:36

3. Dagger 7:14

4. Hide 7:53

5. I Hope She Is Awake 6:36

6. Punchbag 8:22

7. The Griots 6:08