The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

VRIL's 2nd incredible album of tongue-in-cheek lyrical guitar instrumentals, led by Lukas Simonis with Bob Drake and now 3rd guitarist Omer, with Chris Cutler on drums.

VRIL (Drake / Simonis / Cutler / Omer)
The Fatal Duckpond

VRIL (Drake / Simonis / Cutler / Omer): The Fatal Duckpond (Recommended Records)
Label: Recommended Records    
Released in: Great Britain    

"After a break of six years, Chris Cutler, Bob Drake and Lukas Simonis, now with added ingredient Pierre Omer, present the second volume of recordings by the elusive VRIL - a band who revive and update both the great institution of the guitar instrumental and the now sadly neglected practice of collective arrangement, intense rehearsal and live studio performance. Appropriate to the half century that has passed since the birth of the form, these hits dodge about, get bored easily and blend both concentration and complexity with the still indispensable traditional qualities that made the genre great: hummability, crafted sounds, nifty arrangements, ridiculous gimmicks and ensemble playing. 'Neither tribute nor parody, these enigmatic pieces are never more nor less than exactly what they are'.... wrote Lothar Preen in his Melbourne concert review....'but perfectly realised'. With film stills, misleading sleeve-notes and storyboard by the Diogenesian recluse Frank Key."-Chris Cutler, ReR Megacorp

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Progressive Rock
Guitarists, &c.
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Cutler, Chris
Drake, Bob

Search for other titles on the Recommended Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Drake, Bob
Arx Pilosa
(Recommended Records)
Artaud Beats, The
(Recommended Records)
Vliet, Don Van (Captain Beefheart) and The Magic Band
Rough Raw and Amazing [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Ozit Records)
MacLean, Steve & Chris Cutler
Year of the Dragon
(Recommended Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Zorn, John
The Song Project Live At Lpr
Ratkje, Maja S. K.
In Dialogue with Eugeniusz Rudnik
Malaby, Tony
Tamarindo Live
(Clean Feed)
Jaruzelski's Dream
Jazz Gawronski
(Clean Feed)
Bauder, Matt
Day in Pictures
(Clean Feed)
Hertenstein / Niggenkemper / Heberer
(Clean Feed)
Degrassi, Franco
(Creative Sources)
Seeded Plain: Bryan Day & Jay Kremer
entry codes
(Creative Sources)
Rodrigues / Davidson / Matthews
(Creative Sources)
Leimgruber / Phillipp / Gerold
(Creative Sources)
Bynum, Taylor Ho Sextet
The Middle Picture
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Sorey, Tyshawn
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Work, The
(Ad Hoc Records)
Lane, Adam Full Throttle Orchestra
Ashcan Rantings [2 CDs]
(Clean Feed)
Kaufmann / Landfermann / Lillinger
(Clean Feed)
Crump, Stephan / James Carney
Echo Run Pry
(Clean Feed)
Parker / Guy / Lytton + Peter Evans
Scenes in the House of Music
(Clean Feed)
Frangenheim, Alexander
The Knife Again
(Creative Sources)
Forge, Mathias / Olivier Toulemonde
pie 'n' mash
(Another Timbre)
Hubsch, Carl Ludwig / Christoph Schiller
Giles U.
(Another Timbre)
Davies, Angharad / Axel Dorner
(Another Timbre)
Fabbriciani, Roberto / Robin Hayward
nella basilica
(Another Timbre)
Price: $12.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 752725027229

Label: Recommended Records
Catalog ID: ReR Vril2
Squidco Product Code: 11867

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: Great Britain
Arranged by VRIL and recorded 'live' at Studio Midi-Pyrenees, France July 15-25, 2007 by Bob Drake.


Chris Cutler-drums

Bob Drake-bass, guitar

Lukas Simonis-guitars

Pierre Omer-guitars

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Duckpond 2:49

2. Beppo gets crunched 2:16

3. The desperate twins 3:12

4. Baffling calcium lantern light 2:15

5. Stalking contessa 0:43

6. A base knave behind the arras 2:39

7. Casa incognita 3:04

8. Things get lopped 0:57

9. Albino hen coop 2:42

10. Poisoned tunic 1:01

11. Why is the king grunting? 2:22

12. Enter Pabstus Tack 2:58

13. "He mesmerised a duck" 2:33

14. Fateful speech impediment 2:00

15. [Cut from the film at Primrose Dent's whim] 2:36

16. Seven ignorant cousins 1:37

17. The flight of Beppo 1:02

18. Gone with the window 0:55

All compositions by Lukas Simonis.