The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Louis Moholo's Unit, a septet with John Edwards on bass, Pule Pheto on piano, dual saxophones from Jason Yarde and Nutshuks Bonga and vibraphonist Orphy Robinson.

Moholo-Moholo, Louis Unit
An Open Letter to My Wife Mpumi

Moholo-Moholo, Louis Unit: An Open Letter to My Wife Mpumi (Ogun)
Label: Ogun    
Released in: Great Britain    

"One of the legends of the South African and British jazz scenes, drummer Louis Moholo-Moholo came to London in the mid-1960s, and has been balancing emotional eloquence, township music's energy and an openness to the wildest of jazz/improv freedoms ever since. This flat-out 2008 set finds the drummer in a powerful septet including UK saxists Jason Yarde and Ntshuks Bonga, his regular pianist Pule Pheto and Francine Luce on vocals. The horns adopt that vocal-choir South African sound over Pheto's splashing runs and Moholo-Moholo's hurtling snare patterns. Hymnal songs are intoned with stately imperturbability over the stormy rhythmic seas beneath - and there are grippingly layered originals from Yarde, full of free-blowing tumults and baritone-sax snortings, while his Thank U 4 2 Day introduces a sinewy, pleading lyricism underpinned by Orphy Robinson's vibes. It's a ragged and jam-like studio set with a raucous live feel - but it confirms Moholo-Moholo's presence on the scene as a blast of fresh air."-John Fordham, The Guardian UK

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
London & UK Free Improvisation Scene

Get additional information at The Guardian, UK

Search for other titles on the Ogun label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Bonga / Champion / Mwamba
Paperstone Suite
Canto General featuring Louis Moholo-Moholo
Rebel Flames
Moholo-Moholo, Louis Quartet (Hawkins / Edwards / Yarde)
4 Blokes
Yarde, Jason / Oli Hayhurst / Eddie Prevost
"All Together" - Meetings with Remarkable Saxophonists | Volume 3
Moholo-Moholo, Louis Unit
For the Blue Notes
Moholo, Louis / Frode Gjerstad
Hawkins, Alexander & Louis Moholo-Moholo
Keep Your Heart Straight
Dunietz / Edwards / Noble
Cousin It
(Hopscotch Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Guy, Barry / Eddie Prevost / Evan Parker / Keith Rowe
Zorn, John
At The Gates Of Paradise
Hemphill, Julius and Peter Kowald
Live at Kassiopeia
Bang, Billy Survival Ensemble
Black Man's Blues / New York Collage [2 CDs]
Tippett, Keith Octet
From Granite To Wind
Fujii, Satoko Min-Yoh Ensemble
Frith, Fred
Clearing Customs
Baptista, Cyro & Banquet Of The Spirits
Banquet Of The Spirits - The Book Of Angels Volume 17
Lurie, Jessica
Licorice and Smoke
Duval, Halperin, Willson
Music of John Coltrane
Morris, Joe / Nate Wooley
Tooth and Nail
(Clean Feed)
Dunmall / Bianco / Kane
Ritual Beyond
Mostly Other People Do The Killing
(Hot Cup Records)
Empty Cage Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Bowie, Lester
All The Numbers (2 CDs)
Ochs, Larry Quintet
Stone Shift
Kassap / Tchamitchian / Lopez / Lavant
Ascension, Tombeau of John Coltrane
Leandre, Joelle / Lewis, George
Transatlantic Visions
Price: $18.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5020675572270

Label: Ogun
Catalog ID: Ogun 031
Squidco Product Code: 11857

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve 3 panels
Recorded November 2008 at The Premises solar powered recording studio, London. Mixed by Louis Moholo-Moholo, Dave Hunt & Martin Davidson. Masterd by Martin Davidson.


Louis Moholo-Moholo-drums, vocals

Jason Yarde-soprano sax, alto sax, baritone sax

Ntshuks Bonga-alto sax, tenor sax

Orphy Robinson-vibes

Pule Pheto-piano

John Edwards-bass


Francine Luce-voice

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Mark Of Respect 5:00

2. Dikeledi Tsa Phelo 6:10

3. The Tag 7:38

4. Thank U 4 2 Day 6:56

5. Sonke 9:22

6. Russia 6:33

7. Zanele 8:13

8. Fine Line 5:04

9. Two Alto Hit 4:55