The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

The synthetic soundtrack to the radioplay "No Man's Land" about the Dust Bowl period in the USA and the people in the Oklahoma Panhandle; and "The Stranger" based on Camus' book.

van Heumen, Robert

van Heumen, Robert: Stranger (Creative Sources)
Label: Creative Sources    
Released in: Portugal    

"No Man's Land deals with the Dust Bowl period in the USA, particularly with the people who lived and stayed in the Oklahoma Panhandle. The film portrays the story of Hazel Lucas, who migrated to Boise City in Cimarron County as a child and lived through the worst hard times during this ecological and economical disaster. The story is adapted from the book 'The worst hard time' by Timothy Egan. Most of the sounds on the soundtrack are produced in the CEM studio at WORM Rotterdam with the ARP 2500 and Korg MS-20 synthesizers and a Synton stereo EQ.

Stranger is inspired by Albert Camus' L'Étranger, Philip K. Dick's Do androids dream of electric sheep, the film Bladerunner and as always by L.E.J. Brouwer. Utilizing a formalized process, the sounds were taken from one single source, processed at EMS Stockholm and put together at STEIM Amsterdam and Culturelab Newcastle. A blog on the composition process can be found at

"Robert van Heumen works with sound: electronic, experimental, improvised, structured, composed. Recent works include the compositions Stranger, Fury, Silent and 12 Bullets which are performed in multichannel and semi-improvised environments as well as produced for release on CD. Fury was presented at ICMC08, and Stranger premiered as a diffused work at Culturelab in Newcastle (UK). In the fall of 2008 Van Heumen constructed the radioplay No Man's Land, commissioned by the CEM studio at WORM in Rotterdam, NL.

As a musician he uses STEIM's live sampling software LiSa and real-time audio-synthesis and algorithmic composition software SuperCollider. He is active as a member of the electronic audio-visual trio SKIF++ (with Jeff Carey & Bas van Koolwijk), Shackle (working with electro-flutist Anne LaBerge on restriction), ABATTOIR (with cellist/vocalist Audrey Chen), Whistle Pig Saloon (with guitarist John Ferguson deconstructing the guitar), noiseband Man in the Middle (with Nicolas Field & Tom Tlalim), founding member of the N Collective, and has shared the stage with dj sniff (Takuro Mizuta Lippit), Michel Waisvisz, Richard Barrett, Sakata Akira, Nicolas Collins, Oguz Buyukberber, Luc Houtkamp, Guy Harries, Morten J. Olsen, Daniel Schorno, Roddy Schrock, Nate Wooley a.o. His soundworld is a mixture of digital crackles, heavy distortion, melancholic melodies, environmental sounds, voices, sounds from kitchen appliances, most of the time smashed beyond repair.

Van Heumen is Managing Director of the STEIM foundation in Amsterdam, curator of the Local Stop concert series and member of STEIM's Artistic Committee. In a previous life mathematician, trumpet player and software programmer. He still reads L.E.J. Brouwer."

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

See all items in the Creative Sources category

Related Categories of Interest:

Creative Sources

Organized Sound and Sample Based Music
Electronic Forms

Get additional information at Hard Hat Area Blog

Search for other titles on the Creative Sources label.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $12.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5609063401165

Label: Creative Sources
Catalog ID: cs116
Squidco Product Code: 11798

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: Portugal
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Most of the sounds for this soundtrack were recorded at the CEM studio at WORM Rotterdam


Robert van Heuman-Arp 2500 and Korg MS-20 synthesizers, Synton Stereo EQ

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Stranger 22:10

2. Boise City, No Man's Land 3:15

3. A Hard Place To Love 3:39

4. The First Black Duster 2:58

5. The Skies That Brought No Rain, Only Dirt 4:56

6. Killing Animals 2:45

7. Ruth Nell 4:05

8. Black Sunday 1:43

9. Hope 3:59

10. Stranger (Ambient) 19:59

Other Releases
With These Artists: