The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Remastered for its 10th anniversary, "Music for Children" takes the listener through Zorn's Torture Garden, Masada exotica, classical work, plus a new piece performed by Lou Reed!

Zorn, John
Music Romance Vol. 1: Music For Children

Zorn, John: Music Romance Vol. 1: Music For Children (Tzadik)
Label: Tzadik    
Released in: USA    

"There has never been a CD quite like Music For Children. The first installment of Zorn's challenging and controversial Music Romance trilogy (that includes Taboo and Exile and The Gift) it is easily one of the most eclectic CDs ever made. The music includes three short Torture Garden compositions performed by Zorn with the scorching hardcore band Prelapse; a soulful piece of Masada exotica; a virtuosic classical chamber piece for violin, piano and percussion; a poly-rhythmic etude for voice and percussion and a charming nostalgic lullaby for music box. The highlight of this re-release is a revised version of Zorn's infamously epic ear-bender Cycles du Nord, which takes on new intensity through overdubbed bass drums and a newly recorded noise guitar track by none other than the master of feedback himself-Lou Reed! Intensely intriguing, Music For Children is an unbelievable musical roller coast ride that takes you from the sublime to the ridiculous and back again in sixty jam-packed minutes."-Tzadik

See all items in the Tzadik category

Related Categories of Interest:


Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Zorn. John
Ribot, Marc

Search for other titles on the Tzadik label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Zorn, John
Pellucidarña Dreamers Fantabula
Zorn, John
In The Hall Of Mirrors

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Maroney, Denman With Bleckmann / Hirsch
Music For Words, Perhaps: The Poetry of W B Yeates and Wallace Stevens
Gonzalez, Dennis Yells At Eels featuring Rodrigo Amado
The Great Bydgoszcz Concert
Wooley / Lonberg-Holm / Roebke
Throw Down Your Hammer And Sing
(Porter Records)
Lavelle, Matt and Morcilla
The Manifestation Drama
(KMB Jazz)
Zorn, John
Digital Primitives (Cooper-Moore / Tsahar / Taylor)
Hum Crackle Pop
(Hopscotch Records)
Morris, Joe
(Aum Fidelity)
Honsinger, Tristan & Massimo Simonini
Call Me Us
(I Dischi di Angelica)
Goebbels, Heiner
The Italian Concerto
(I Dischi di Angelica)
Braxton, Anthony
Creative Orchestra (Koeln) 1978 [2 CDs]
Wilkes, Corey & Abstrakt Pulse
Cries From Tha Ghetto
(Pi Recordings)
Masada Quintet Featuring Joe Lovano
Stolas: The Book Of Angels Volume 12
People Band
Price: $11.95
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 702397732129

Label: Tzadik
Catalog ID: TZA-CD-7321b
Squidco Product Code: 11621

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray in wrap-around box
Tracks 1, 6, 7, 8 recorded and mixed by Jim Anderson at Avatar, April & August 1998. Tracks 2, 4, 5 recorded and mixed by Martin Bisi at BC Studios, March 1998. Track 3 recorded and mixed by Maggie Payne at Mills College, June 1998. Additional recording for tracks 7 by Marc Urselli at Eastside Sound, July 2008, and by Eric Kramer at Roof Recordings, February 2009. Lou Reed's guitar feedback processed live by Sarth Calhoun.


David Abel-Violin

Cyro Baptista-Percussion, Vocals

Greg Cohen-Bass

Anthony Coleman-Celeste Music Box

Erik Friedlander-Cello

Marc Ribot-Guitar

Julie Steinberg-Piano

William Winant-Percussion, Bass Drums

John Zorn-Alto Sax, Three Wind Machines, Two Acoustic Feedback Systems, Bass Drums

Lou Reed-Guitar Feedback


Mason Wendell-Bass, Vocals

Jeff Hudgins-Alto Sax

Dane Johnson-Guitar

Alex Lacamoire-Keyboards

Andy Sanesi-Drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Fils des etoiles 2:17

2. This Way Out 1:09

3. Music for Children 14:24

4. Bikini Atoll 0:47

5. Bone Crusher 0:37

6. Dreamer of Dreams 5:49

7. Cycles du Nord 21:02

8. SooKi's Lullaby 3:19