The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

After 29 years together, Miriodor is one of the finest improvising rock bands on the planet, here refocused on the dense and twisted instrumental work that best defines them.


Miriodor: Avanti! (Cuneiform)
Label: Cuneiform    
Released in: USA    

Sometimes it's hard to write about an album simply because it's difficult to find new ways of saying 'amazing'. Miriodor's albums present that challenge. With a string of utterly fabulous releases, how does one find a new way to get across the fact that Miriodor are one of the very finest new music/rock ensembles in existence? Maybe by truthfully stating that, in my opinion, Avanti! is most likely their best work yet! The band have always produced music that is intricate, tuneful, challenging and filled with both fire and humor. The mixing and production were handled by member Bernard Falaise, the first time the band have done all of this work 'in house' and he has added some adventurous and interesting touches which never overwhelm the integrity of the underlying musical work, but add an additional dimension which is new for the band."Fortuitously placed under the sign of number seven, Miriodor's seventh album contains seven songs which all last seven minutes or more, for a total of 60 minutes of dense and twisted music, - la Miriodor. The band, now in its 30th year of existence, has attained a level of cohesion and complicity that sometimes baffles even its more recent members, those who have only been around for 15 years or so... At the core of this production are the usual partners in crime : Bernard Falaise (guitars, stringed instruments, etc.), Pascal Globensky (keyboards, synthesizer, piano), Remi Leclerc (drums, percussion, sampler) and Nicolas Masino (bass, keyboards). On this album, we tried to develop our playing as a quartet, so about half the album has no outside guests, no sequences and just a few overdubs. On the other pieces we are joined by Pierre "The Preacher" Labbe on tenor and barytone saxes, regular acolyte Marie-Chantal Leclair on soprano saxophone, and Maxime St-Pierre on trumpet."

"Bernard Falaise. Born Montréal, Québec, 1965. Residence: Montréal, Québec. Composer, Performer (guitar).

Bernard Falaise was born in Montréal, where he currently lives. He plays electric guitar, composes and improvises - all with evident joy - for Miriodor, Klaxon Gueule, les Projectionnistes, Diesel and other groups. He has written for the Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM), Quartango and the Isis Quartet, and has created music for exhibitions, television, the theatre and dance. Allergic to labels, Falaise explores acid rock, twelve-tone waltzes and industrial tangos with equal enthusiasm."

-ActuelleCD (

See all items in the Cuneiform category

Related Categories of Interest:


Rock and Related
Progressive Rock
Improvised Rock
Improvised Music
Musique Actuelle
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Get additional information at Miriodor Website

Search for other titles on the Cuneiform label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Cobra Fakir [VINYL]
Cobra Fakir

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Cockpit Music
This Doesn't Look Like Our Town
(Ninth World)
Miyamoto, Naoaki
Me no Tawamure
Lussier / Tetreault / Yoshihide
Elektrik Toboggan
Marchetti, Lionel
Knud un Nom de Serpent (Le Cercle des Entrailles)
(Intransitive Recordings)
Snow / Licht / Onda
Five A's, Two C's, One D, One E, Two H's, Three I's...
Univers Zero
Frith, Fred & Danielle Palardy Roger
Pas de deux nouveau
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
MacLean, Steve
Frog Bug Guitar Computer
(Recommended Records)
Baumgartner, Martin
Shoot's Huft
Hollmer, Lars
The Siren's Wave
Staiano's, Moe! - MOE!KESTRA!
2 Rooms Of Uranium Within 83 Markers: Conducted Improvisations, Vol.II
(Edgetone Records)
Lambs Gamble (Cremaschi / Welch)
Memory Collapse
(Evolving Ear)
Catera, Damian
Radio deComposition
(Harsh House)
Ensemble SuperMusique
Canevas "+"
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Cusack, Peter & Eastley, Max
Day for Night
Hideki, Kato; Mori, Ikue; Frith, Fred
Death Ambient
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 045775028828

Label: Cuneiform
Catalog ID: Cuneiform 288
Squidco Product Code: 11573

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded in Montreal at Studio Parleur.


Bernard Falaise-guitars, fretless bass, Madonlin, banjo, keyboards, turntables

Pascal Globensky-keyboards, synthesizer, piano

Remi Leclerc-drums, percussion

Nicolas Masino-bass, keyboards, piano


Pierre Labbe-tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone

Marie-Chantal Leclair-soprano saxophone

Maxime St-Pierre-trumpet

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. envoutement :: bewitchment 9:16

2. bolide débile :: dare devil 8:45

3. la roche :: meeting point 9:17

4. écart-type :: standard deviation 6:39

5. a déterminer :: to be determined 10:30

6. avanti! :: avanti! 8:18

7. réveille-matin :: shadow of the alarm clock 7:54