The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The first release from this New York 10 piece band co-led by cornetist Taylor Ho Bynum and vocalist Abraham Gomez-Delgado, drawing together modern jazz and Latin music.

Positive Catastrophe (Ho Bynum / Gomez-Delgado / Bauder / Attias)
Garabatos Volume One

Positive Catastrophe (Ho Bynum / Gomez-Delgado / Bauder / Attias): Garabatos Volume One (Cuneiform)
Label: Cuneiform    
Released in: USA    

"Positive Catastrophe is the brainchild of Taylor Ho Bynum (cornet) and Abraham Gomez-Delgado (percussion). Taylor is one of the most impressive of the latest crop of up and coming jazz musicians and Aib has long been expanding the boundaries of Latin-based music and jazz. Together they have come up with Positive Catastrophe: a trans-idiomatic ten-piece little big band that successfully connects the dots between Sun Ra and Eddie Palmieri and beyond! The group enlists a bevy of New York's most adventurous jazz and salsa musicians, all of whom are composers and leaders in their own right.

With the exceptional musicianship of all of these players and their fluidity in multiple genres, a unique instrumentation that hints at a traditional jazz and salsa big bands yet includes french horn, erhu, and rock guitar, and a pair of dramatic vocalists that are comfortable singing in three languages, Positive Catastrophe creates a truly boundary-crossing kind of new music.

"If you've been hungering to hear Latin-based jazz in a new light, your prayers have been answered."-NY Press

See all items in the Cuneiform category

Related Categories of Interest:


Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Cuneiform label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Bynum, Taylor Ho
Navigation (Possibility Abstracts X & XI) [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Conly, Sean and Michael Attias
Think Shadow
(OutNow Recordings)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Thumbscrew (Halvorson / Formanek / Fujiwara)
Fujiwara, Tomas / Ben Goldberg / Mary Halvorson
The Out Louds
(Relative Pitch)
Brotzmann / Edwards / Noble
Soulfood Available
(Clean Feed)
Landaeus, Mathias
Into Life
(Moserobie Music)
Halvorson, Mary
Reverse Blue
(Relative Pitch)
Johnson, Max / Ingrid Laubrock / Mat Maneri / Tomas Fujiwara
The Prisoner
Karayorgis, Pandelis Quintet
(Driff Records)
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Other Doors
(Allos Musica)
Attias, Michael
Twines of Colesion
(Clean Feed)
Rent, The (Thomson / Neal / Fraser/ Brenders / Hood)
Musique de Steve Lacy
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Frith, Fred
Nowhere, Sideshow, Thin Air
(ReR/ Fred Records)
Frith, Fred
Impur II
(ReR/ Fred Records)
Tippet, Keith Septet
A Loose Kite in a Gentle Wind Floating with Only My Will for an Anchor
Jensson, Hilmar's TYFT
Smell the Difference
Guilbeault, Normand Ensemble
Live at Upstairs 2008. Hommage a Mingus
(Ambiances Jazz)
Fully Celebrated Orchestra
Drunk On The Blood Of The Holy Ones
(Aum Fidelity)
Derome, Jean And The Dangereux Zhoms+7
Plates-Formes Et Traquenards
Smith, Wadada Leo / Dejohnette, Jack
Fefer / Revis / Taylor
(Clean Feed)
Gonzalez, Dennis / Joao Paulo
(Clean Feed)
Transit (Arnal / Misterka / Radding / Wooley)
(Clean Feed)
Lucky 7's
Pluto Junkyard
(Clean Feed)
Herculaneum III
(Clean Feed)
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 045775028620

Label: Cuneiform
Catalog ID: Cuneiform 286
Squidco Product Code: 11571

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
All tracks recorded by Jon Rosenberg in-studio at Systems Two, Brooklyn, NY on September 3, 2008 except "Travels Part 4" recorded live at Zebulon, Brooklyn on August 18, 2008.


Taylor Ho Bynum-cornet, flugelhorn, co-leader

Abraham Gomez-Delgado-vocals, percussion, co-leader

Jen Shyu-vocals, erhu

Matt Bauder-tenor sax, clarinets

Michael Attias-baritone sax

Mark Taylor-french horn

Reut Regev-trombone

Pete Fitzpatrick-guitar

Alvaro Benavides-bass

Tomas Fujiwara-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Plena Organization 6:29

2. Travels Parts 1 & 2 6:22

3. Metro Mono 3:52

4. Plena Seguira 4:47

5. Stillness/Life 5:33

6. Post Chordal 3:21

7. Plena Quicksand Monument 6:26

8. Revamped 4:38

9. Travels Part 3 & 4 14:23

10. Contenido Adentro 4:52