The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Four improvisers from Quebec and Norway playing prepared reeds, strings, and a broken turntable, an ea-improv release evoking the sonic and industrial world of sound.

Lauzier / Martel / Myhr / Tetreault
Disparition de l'usine ephemere

Lauzier / Martel / Myhr / Tetreault: Disparition de l'usine ephemere (Ambiances Magnetiques)
Label: Ambiances Magnetiques    
Released in: Canada    

Disparition de l'usine ephemere is the first release of a quartet consisting of prominent improvisers from Quebec and Norway. The peculiar combination of old and new instruments renders a poetic image of a faded, bygone industrial plant.The quartet works within both narrow and broad acoustic areas: sometimes focusing on a tiny vibration, other times a polyphonic orchestra of pipes, pumps, wheels, objects, bells and motors ring together: a multiplicity of cogwheels spinning in different tempos, all working together to create a large machine of acoustic and electronic sounds.Philippe Lauzier saxophone alto + clarinette basse + preparations // Pierre-Yves Martel viole de gambe + objets + preparations // Kim Myhr guitare acoustique + objets + preparations // Martin Tetreault tourne-disque defectueux, bras, surfaces

See all items in the Ambiances Magnetiques category

Related Categories of Interest:

Ambiances Magnetiques

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Free Improvisation
Quartet Recordings
Objects and Home-made Instruments

Search for other titles on the Ambiances Magnetiques label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Tempo [3 CD BOX]
Funf (Babin, Cornell, Crispo, Jacques...)
La Regle
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Martel, Pierre-Yves
(Tour de Bras)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Revert, Matthew / Vanessa Rossetto
Earnest Rubbish
Klaxon Gueule (Cote, Falaise, St-Onge)
Pour en finir
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Kesten, Christian & Mark Trayle / Annette Krebs
Berlin series No. 2
(Another Timbre)
Thing, The
(The Thing Records)
Hot Date
(Talking Skull)
Testa, Carl
(Lock Step Records)
Rodrigues / Sielaff / Rawlings / Sundstrom / Burns / Mota
(Creative Sources)
Coluccino, Osvaldo
(Another Timbre)
Anastasoff / Morgan / Ali / Stewart-Robertson / Henkel / Wick
Obscure Directions
(Prom Night Records)
Remote Viewers, The
City of Nets
(Remote Viewers)
Kimmel / More / Wick
Parker, William
Centering. Unreleased Early Recordings 1976-1987 [6 CD BOX + BOOK]
Circuit: Taylor / Seagroat / Chatgigiannis
Grimal, Alexandra
Taus (Klaus Filip & Tim Blechmann)
(Another Timbre)
Tres Hongos
Where My Dreams Go To Die
(Molk Records)
Linson, Adam Systems Quartet (Dorner / Mahall / Linson / Lytton)
Figures And Grounds
Denley / Lauzier / Martel / Myhr / Normand
Transition de Phase
(Tour de Bras)
Stackenas / Rodrigues / Rodrigues / Torres
Wounds Of Light
(Creative Sources)
Abbott, Simeon + Bent Spoon Duo
saigon, you crazy diamond
(Bug Incision Records)
Grid Mesh (Schubert/ Willers / Fischerlehner]
Gjerstad / Lonberg-Holm / Zerang
Sugar Maple
Diaz-Infante / Rodrigues / Robair / Mota
Our Faceless Empire
Price: $14.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 771028118120

Label: Ambiances Magnetiques
Catalog ID: AM 181 CD
Squidco Product Code: 11025

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2008
Country: Canada
Packaging: Cardstock 3 page foldover
Recorded on June 23rd, 2008 at Hotel2Tango in Montreal, CA.


Philippe Lauzier-alto saxophone, bass clarinet, preparations

Pierre-Yves Martel-viola de gambe, objects, preparations

Kim Myhr-acoustic guitar, objets, preparations

Martin Tetreault-defective turntable, bras, surfaces

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Traitement Thermique 5:39

2. Engrenage 2:49

3. Electro-Polissage 2:31

4. Etat de Surface 3:33

5. Gestion des Ressources Humaines 3:23

6. Fonderie 4:35

7. Passage Cylindrique 2:03

8. Roleau Compresseur 3:08

9. Assemblage 2:38

10. Chantier Naval 6:07