The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

West Coast saxophonist Robinson's 3rd album as a leader in Gil Evans & Ellington/Strayhorn influenced compositions; Anthony Davis joins for 2 tracks.

Robinson, Jason

Robinson, Jason : Fingerprint (Circumvention)
Label: Circumvention    
Released in: USA    

"Fingerprint is saxophonist Jason Robinson's third album as a leader and features a remarkable assortment of California-based improvisers. Centered on Robinson's quartet, Fingerprint debuts a collection of original compositions influenced by an eclectic array of influences. Drawing on Ellingtonian and Strayhorn-esque melodic and harmonic sounds, Gil Evans-inspired voicings, as well as post-bop and post-60s angularity and chromaticism, Robinson's compositional and improvisatory approaches embody the hybridity and pluralism being pioneered by today's figures in creative music. Robinson's quartet features long-time collaborators: Detroit-born pianist and saxophonist Kamau Kenyatta, bassist Rob Thorsen (who plays with Robinson in the transnational group Cross Border Trio) and drummer Nathan Hubbard (who plays with Robinson in Cosmologic). This quartet is expanded on two tracks, which feature critically acclaimed pianist (and composer) Anthony Davis and an extended horn section. The centerpiece of the album is "Silence Becomes a Roar," a complex, multi-section piece featuring a 10-piece ensemble."-Circumvention Music

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music

Search for other titles on the Circumvention label.

Price: $12.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 837101433747

Label: Circumvention
Catalog ID: circ050
Squidco Product Code: 9244

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2007
Country: USA
Packaging: Digipack

Jason Robinson-tenor sax

Kamau Kenyatta-piano, soprano sax

Rob Thorsen-bass

Nathan Hubbard-drums

Anthony Davis-piano

Michael Dessen-trombone

Ellen Weller-flute

Adnan Marquez-Borbon-flute

Andrew Geib-flute

Gabriel Sundy-baritone clarinet

Scott Walton-conductor

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. The Wiggle Room 10:36

2. Serendipity 10:54

3. Silence Becomes a Roar 11:15

4. Conundrum 12:28

5. Forest Cover 14:14

6. Thin Veil 8:00