The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Trummerflora: Rubble 2 (Accretions)

Second in a series of compilations featuring works by members and ensembles of the Trummerflora Collective, who create composed and improvised works, installations, visual art, writings and film.

Price: $11.95


In Stock

Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

Label: Accretions
Catalog ID: A/C-202
Squidco Product Code: 8711

Format: CD
Condition: Sale (New)
Released: 2006
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray


Nathan Hubbard Skeleton Key Orchestra

Lisle Ellis

Marcos Fernandes

Gunther's Grass

Permanent Flow

Curtis Glatter

Damon Holzborn

Ellen Weller

Bob Weller

Trio Maghreb

Erick Griswold

Scott Walton


Robert M

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search
track listing:

1. Nathan Hubbard Skeleton Key Orchestra: Track 1 (for RC)

2. Lisle Ellis, Marcos Fernandes: Parlance

3. Gunther's Grass: Vulcanian

4. Permanent Flow: Kalkengel

5. Curtis Glatter: Bala 1

6. Damon Holzborn: E. Digest

7. Ellen Weller, Bob Weller: Excerpts from Suite of Dreams

8. Trio Maghreb: Field Day

9. Erik Griswold, Scott Walton, Nathan Hubbard: Susan's Stretto

10. Obscuricon: Vitriol

11. robert m: A Remixed Offering of Interconnectedness

12. Nathan Hubbard Skeleton Key Orchestra: Track 2 (for AB)
Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
October 2007
Installation Sound Work

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"Rubble 2 is the second in a series of compilations featuring works by members and ensembles of the Trummerflora Collective, the group of independent music makers, who since its inception in 2000 has produced a considerable catalogue of recorded works both composed and improvised as well as installations, visual art, writings and film. This collection offers a taste of the diverse musical landscape these artists inhabit.

Nathan Hubbard's tracks series is an ongoing set of compositions conceived for large ensemble using modular notation and open instrumentation. In general, these are shorter pieces with open possibilities for interpretation, often based around repetitious figures and overlapping textures. Track 1(For RC) is dedicated to composer/guitarist/trumpeter Rhys Chatham. Based around a central loop played by two like instruments, it deals mostly with rhythmic possibilities of overlapping loops in multiple meters, using three levels of activity pulse, vamps and section material. Track 2 (for AB) - Track 2 is dedicated to composer/woodwind player Anthony Braxton. It deals with similar issues as Track 1, without the pulse concept and with cells to be read in any clef. Lisle Ellis and Marcos Fernandes deliver a spirited dialogue on bass and percussion. Gunther's Grass began in 2005 as a collaboration between Marcelo Radulovich and Christopher Adler, to bring together two ancient drone-based instruments from across the world, the medieval European hurdy-gurdy and the Lao/Northeast Thai mouth organ khaen. Permanent Flow contributes an out-take from their 2004 Accretions release featuring live improvisations by Joscha Oets, Andreas Wagner and Greg Stuat. Bala 1: As an homage to East Asian nobility and primitivism, Curtis Glatter delivers a percussion solo with a "call" of gentle expressionism "answered" by a hailstorm of percussive fire. Sound artist Damon Holzborn sculpts layers of sound, working with programmatic and abstracted audio materials. He extracts a rich palette out of small musical moments, pulling at a sound to discover unexpected textures inside of it. E. Digest is distilled from materials collected for the inSite 05 project Ellipsis, curated by Hans Fjellestad. Ellen Weller and Bob Weller paint an Impressionistic piano and soprano sax dialogue while Trio Maghreb are Tracy McMullen, Al Scholl and Marcos Fernandes who offer a track from their upcoming release wherein they explore open and structured improvisations, minimalism and the blues. VITRIOL: Jason Robinson, Al Scholl, Justin Grinnel, Curtis Glatter and õTenshun on turntables offer up an electro-acoustic improvisation featuring the shimmering production die cast by Nathan Hubbard. Once again robert m reinterprets an existing work, this time going back to a piece recorded live at Spring Reverb '04 with Ernesto Diaz-Infante, Marcos Fernandes, Rent Romus and robert m. A bit rawer and more "noise" oriented than previous efforts, it traces the continuing evolution of robert m's music."-Circumvention Music

Other Releases With These Artists:
Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the Accretions label.