The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC


Message For The Errand Boy

Mokuto: Message For The Errand Boy (Ninth World)
Label: Ninth World    
Released in: Denmark    

Three of Denmarks finest improvisers in collaboration with New York trumpeter Herb Robertson, Message For The Errand Boy was recorded in July 2003 after the band had played a series of concerts during the Copenhagen Jazz Festival. The recordings present five tracks of 3 to 8 minutes in length, and the 26 minute "Captain Voms Great Adventure," which features adventurous playing and subtle interaction in a free structure that give the players a great deal of room to express themselves. Saxophonist Lotte Anker has recorded Tim Berne, Marilyn Crispell, Paul Nilssen-Love, etc. Herb Robertson is a versatile player who has worked with Tim Berne, Bill Frisell, Paul Motian, etc. and is found in both NY and European organizations. Nielsen and Jorgensen are often associated with trombonist Johannes Bauer and Peter Brötzmann.

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
August 2007
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Ninth World label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Anker, Lotte / Rodrigo Pinheiro / Hernani Faustino
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Brooklyn Express, The (Fonda / Tononi / Cavallanti / Swell / Robertson)
No Time Left!
(Long Song Records)
S4 (Butcher / Kobi / Koch / Leimgruber)
Cold Duck
Guy, Barry / Eddie Prevost / Evan Parker / Keith Rowe
Pateras, Anthony / Erkki Veltheim
Entertainment = Control
ElSaffar, Amir Two Rivers Ensemble
(Pi Recordings)
Sandell / Lonberg-Holm / Zerang
Revis, Eric's 11:11,
(Clean Feed)
Lillinger, Christian's GRUND
Second Reason
(Clean Feed)
Haker-Flaten New York Quartet, Ingebrigt (McPhee / Wooley / Morris)
Now Is
(Clean Feed)
Gonzalez Yells at Eels, Dennis
Resurrection and Life
Leandre, Joelle / Phillip Greenlief
That Overt Desire of Object
(Relative Pitch)
Scanner / The Post Modern Jazz Quartet
Blink of an Eye
(Thirsty Ear)
Malaby, Tony
Tamarindo Live
(Clean Feed)
Broo, Magnus
Swedish Wood
(Moserobie Music)
Jaruzelski's Dream
Jazz Gawronski
(Clean Feed)
Hertenstein / Niggenkemper / Heberer
(Clean Feed)
Degrassi, Franco
(Creative Sources)
Seeded Plain: Bryan Day & Jay Kremer
entry codes
(Creative Sources)
Rodrigues / Davidson / Matthews
(Creative Sources)
Leimgruber / Phillipp / Gerold
(Creative Sources)
Junji, Hirose
the elements: tenor saxophone solos
Halvorson, Mary Quintet
Saturn Sings
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Bynum, Taylor Ho Sextet
The Middle Picture
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Work, The
(Ad Hoc Records)
Lane, Adam Full Throttle Orchestra
Ashcan Rantings [2 CDs]
(Clean Feed)
Price: $16.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5709498203270

Label: Ninth World
Catalog ID: NWM 033CD
Squidco Product Code: 8558

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2007
Country: Denmark
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded at Ninth World Studios July 2003


Herb Robertson-trumpet, cornet, mutes, slide trumpet

Lotte Anker-soprano, alto, tenor saxophones

Peter Friis Nielsen-bass

Peter Ole Jørgensen-drums, percussion

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Freebooting in Heavy Sea

2. God bless Mokuto and All Who Sail with It

3. Message for the Errand Boy

4. Captain Voms Great Adventure

5. Waiting for the Wind Lost in the Coral Sea