The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC


International Nothing, The

International Nothing, The: Mainstream (Ftarri)
Label: Ftarri    
Released in: Japan    

"mainstream is the debut album of The International Nothing--the duo project of Kai Fagaschinski and Michael Thieke, two Berlin-based clarinetists who are composers as well as improvisers. All eight of the tracks on this recording are composed works. In addition to five pieces focusing on the resonance of the mellow, limpid timbres produced by the two clarinets, there are a couple of tracks seasoned with songlike elements and vocalization by guest musicians, and one tune featuring two contrabass players. The album as a whole offers just the right amount of diversity and breadth. Guest musicians are Margareth Kammerer (voice, guitar - track 5), Christof Kurzmann (remix, voice - track 8), Derek Shirley (contrabass - track 7), and Christian Weber (contrabass - track 7). mainstream is the first release from the new label Ftarri, an offshoot of the Improvised Music from Japan label."-Ftarri

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
lowercase, micro-improv, sound improv
May 2007
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Free Improvisation
Sextet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Ftarri label.

Other Recommended Releases:
The International Nothing
The Power Of Negative Thinking
Kurzmann, Christof
Then & Now [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Murayama, Seijiro / Eric La Casa
Paris: Public Spaces
Thieke, Michael Unununium
(Mikroton Recordings)
Kammerer, Margareth
Why Is The Sea So Blue
(Mikroton Recordings)
Thieke / Gregorio / Baker / Zerang
Sack of Rice
Thieke & Toulemonde / Capece & Drouin
Berlin Series #1
(Another Timbre)
Romen / Fagaschinski / Schneider
Here Comes The Sun
(Mikroton Recordings)
Wintsch, Weber, Wolfarth
The Holistic Worlds Of [VINYL]
Dogmatics, The (Abrahams / Fagachinski)
The Sacrifice For The Music Became Our Lifestyle [VINYL]
Clarinet Trio, The

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Rubedo 'ro
Rubedo 'ro
Mazurek, Rob & Black Cube SP (featuring Sao Paulo Underground)
Return The Tides: Ascension Suite And Holy Ghost
Smith, David / Laswell, Bill / Zorn, John
The Dream Membrane
Adasiewicz's, Jason Sun Rooms
From The Region
Wallin, Per Henrik
Proklamation I & Farewell To Sweden [2 CDs]
Hetu, Joane
Tryptique Musique d'hiver
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
International Nothing, The (Fagaschinski / Thieke)
Less Action, Less Excitement, Less Everything
Connors, Loren & Jim O'Rourke
Are You Going To Stop...In Bern?
Lauzier / Martel
Sainct Laurens
Tapscott, Horace
The Dark Tree [2 CDs]
Polwechsel & John Tilbury
Magic I.D., The
till my breath gives out
Kommando Raumschiff Zitrone
First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
(Quincunx Sound Recordings)
Ceccarelli, Isaiah
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
eRikm / Tetreault / Yoshihide
Trace Cuts
(Musica Genera)
Price: $15.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Ftarri
Catalog ID: 222
Squidco Product Code: 8222

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2006
Country: Japan
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve
Recorded by Michael at KuLe (1-4, 6), at Maggy's flat (5), at Derek's flat (7), and by Christof at his flat (8), all in Berlin between July 2003 and June 2005.


Kai Fagaschinski-clarinet

Michael Thieke-clarinet

Guests: Margareth Kammerer-voice, guitar

Derek Shirley-double bass

Christian Weber-double bass

Christof Kurzmann-remix with additional voice

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Einfache Freuden 7:38

2. We Already Know ... 6:03

3. Wenn Alles Wehtut Und Nichts Mehr Geht 8:32

4. Feathered Machine Song 7:18

5. And The Morning 5:50

6. Rollig 6:34

7. Lovetone 9:16

8. Hauntissimo (For Lucy & Richard Stoltzmann) 4:47