The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC


Redfearn, Alec K. and The Eyesores
The Blind Spot

Redfearn, Alec K. and The Eyesores: The Blind Spot (Cuneiform)
Label: Cuneiform    
Released in: USA    

Alec K. Redfearn has been releasing albums since 1991, first with the Amoebic Ensemble and then starting in 1998 with The Eyesores - this is their 6th proper release. Redfearn himself is a songwriter, accordionist, improviser and composer. The Eyesores were formed in '97 as an outlet for Redfearn's songs, but developed into a more ambitious organization that takes on a variety of musical styles; from Redfearn's own description, the eyesores play "slow, simmering, noirish dirges, spastic no-wave tangos, repetitive rhythmic conundrums, Weimar-style cabaret songs, Drunken revelry, crippling depression, extreme self loathing, Catholic guilt, clanking, scraping and radio noise." That sounds about right, but leaves out the charm and fascinating sophistication of their musical works. This album in particular is an excellent example, leading with a few unusual orchestrated songs, leading to a song cycle for large ensemble including violin, viola, french horn, bassoon, loops and electronic mayhem. The cycle is a eulogy and meditation about drug addiction and death, a somber yet beautifully moving work. Comparisons to the work of Lars Hollmer, Slapp Happy, Nimal or Volapük aren't far off.

See all items in the Cuneiform category

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Progressive Rock
Song Based Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
May 2007

Get additional information at Redfearn Website

Search for other titles on the Cuneiform label.

Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 045775024424

Label: Cuneiform
Catalog ID: RUNE 244
Squidco Product Code: 8095

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2007
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray

Alec K. Redfearn

Margie Wienk

Olivia Geiger

Matt McLaren

Chris Saraullo

Jason McGill

Frank Difficult

Ellen Santaniello

Chris Sandlers

Sarah Tolan-Mee

Steve Jobe

Domenick Panzarella

Erica Schattle

Ann Schattle

Laura Gulley

Orion Rigel Dommisse

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. The Perforated Veil 2:01

2. Queen of Wires 4:12

3. Myra 3:45

"I am the Resurrection and the Light" - a song cycle:

4. Blue on White 4:48

5. The Radiator Hymn 3:28

6. The Burning Hand 4:50

7. River of Glass 1:38

8. The Flesh of the Drum 2:25

9. The Blind Spot 2:50

10. Rising 3:12

11. Blue on White (reprise) 8:03