The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC


Brovold, Bill and Larval
Surviving Death / Alive Why?

Brovold, Bill and Larval: Surviving Death / Alive Why? (Cuneiform)
Label: Cuneiform    
Released in: USA    

"Larval is a avant/post-rock instrumental band consisting of an ever changing lineup of some of the best musicians in Detroit. Led by composer Bill Brovold, Larval's experimental rock often combines wall-of-sound guitars, bass and drums with saxes and violin, and is very direct and powerful. Founded in 1996, after Bill had spent five years performing with experimental / no wave legend Rhys Chatham, this is Larval's fifth album and the two disc set showcases two side of the band's work. Disc one is their new studio recording, which is an amalgamation of styles and approaches to music, from quiet and limpidly beautiful passages to an aggressive onslaught of horns, guitars and strings, moving from very controlled passages to almost complete chaos and back, all the while following a master plan of intent. The second disc is compiled from 7 years of potent live recordings; here, as anyone who has experienced Larval live knows, the band eschew some of the more quieter moments that are on the studio albums, and just rock loud and hard!"-Cuneiform Records

See all items in the Cuneiform category

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Progressive Rock
Improvised Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
February 2007
Improvised Rock

Search for other titles on the Cuneiform label.

Price: $18.95
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 6.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 045775024820

Label: Cuneiform
Catalog ID: Rune 248/249
Squidco Product Code: 7612

Format: 2 CDs
Condition: New
Released: 2007
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray

Mary Alice-Piano

Dan Bennett-Reeds, Saxophone

Stuart Bogie-Reeds

Bill Brovold-Organ, Bass, Guitar, Piano, Drums, Cover Painting

John Ilewelyn Evans-Reeds, Saxophone

Steven Feigenbaum-Release Coordinator

Erik Gustafson-Guitar

Ryan Pritts-Tympani

Jason Shearer-Saxophone

Colin Stetson-Reeds

Toby Summerfield-Guitar

Kurt Zimmerman-Guitar, Violin

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Going Somewhere Else 3:15

2. It Was a Puny Plan 7:33

3. Scottish Blood 6:05

4. Surviving Death 11:20

5. The Hospital Visit 2:38

6. The 300-Pound Nurse 8:22

7. There's Something Under Her Bed 3:18

8. Funk=Sex2 6:20

9. The Last One to Leave 4:31

CD 2:

1. One Step Forward, Two Steps Back 5:54

2. Childish Delusions 5:37

3. Last Ditch 7:55

4. Alpha Thejone 5:34

5. Crippled Dance 6:25

6. Guitar Trio 7:27

7. One Last Fight 4:38

8. Long Lake 8:28

9. Half a Bubble off Level 2:28

10. The Entity 3:36