The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC


Bent Spoon Trio
St. Paul Electric

Bent Spoon Trio: St. Paul Electric (Bug Incision Records)
Label: Bug Incision Records    
Released in: Canada    

"The new Bent Spoon Trio album takes a new approach from the last, this time working with small(er) track lengths. It was recorded in the smoking stairwell of ACAD, which, as anybody who's been in there knows, has insane amounts of sound to play with. The record ended up being a document of our afternoon there, and features improvisations, along with other tracks that help give a sense of the space we were working with. As with the other BUG INCISION albums, this release will feature some lucid and informed liner notes by our friend and colleague, Brooker Buckingham."-Bent Spoon (Myspace)

"The Bent Spoon Trio play free improvisation, and have embraced all the freedoms that this allows. This aligns them quite squarely with the free improvisation that has been coming out of Europe since the late 1960s and the quest for new sounds and techniques. Opening themselves up to any and all sounds, as well as abandoning time or harmony in favour of textural and free rhythmic interplay has allowed the band to find a unique voice and a very personal sort of collective expression"-Bent Spoon Trio

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Septtember 2006
Free Improvisation
Trio Recordings
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Bug Incision Records label.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $11.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 1.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Bug Incision Records
Catalog ID: bir-three
Squidco Product Code: 6743

Format: CDR
Condition: New
Released: 2006
Country: Canada
Packaging: individually numbered, handmade sleeve
Recorded at Acad, Calgary, Alberta, April 2006


Chris Dadge-drumset, percussion, recorder

David Laing-alto sax, melodica, laingdon

Scott Munro-upright bass, amplified things

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. thanks for nothing, freakbeast

2. windfarm

3. your rules

4. somebody just got

5. the continental

6. paid too much

7. karklin

8. false darkness

9. rig mattes fur rent

Other Releases
With These Artists: