The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC


Rothenberg / Buck / Takeishi / Tronzo
The Fell Clutch

Rothenberg / Buck / Takeishi / Tronzo: The Fell Clutch (Animul)
Label: Animul    
Released in: USA    

The Animul label is Ned Rothenberg's own, and this release is an amazing demonstration of Rothenberg's abilities both as a leader and a player. On clarinet, bass clarinet and alto sax, his skills in improvisation and writing are powerful, from fluid playing to intense bass clarinet musing or circular phrases that amaze. Joined by Tony Buck from The Necks on drums; Stomu Takeishi, a part of Henry Threadgill's Make a Move, on fretless bass; on three tracks Dave Tronzo (Spanish Fly) on slide guitar; and Joe Williamson on acoustic bass for one piece. This is a performing group and it shows, but it's also a thinking and exploring set of musicians that demonstrate a wide variety of styles and approaches with strength and assurance. The credits state that "All music spontaneously composed by the musicians," which is no doubt true, but Rothenberg's hand in direction and composition is strongly felt. Highly recommended.

See all items in the Rothenberg, Ned category

Related Categories of Interest:

Rothenberg, Ned
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Improvised Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
May 2006
Recordings by or featuring Reed & Wind Players
Quintet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Animul label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Rothenberg, Ned / Mark Feldman / Sylvie Courvoisier
In Cahoots
(Clean Feed)
Nagai, Shoko (w/ Reynolds / Goldberger / Takeishi / Black)
Taken Shadow
Sogawa, Kinya
Playing Bamboo
Schmid, Peter A. / Ned Rothenberg
En Passant
(Creative Works Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Mostly Other People Do The Killing
(Hot Cup Records)
Karayorgis, Pandelis Quintet
(Driff Records)
BOLT (Dijkstra / Fujiwara / Rosenthal / Hofbauer)
(Driff Records)
Whammies, The (Dijkstra / Oliver / Karayorgis / Roebke / Bishop / Bennink)
Play The Music of Steve Lacy Vol. 3, Live
(Driff Records)
Gauci, Stephen / Kirk Knuffke / Ken Filiano
Chasing Tales
(Relative Pitch)
Speed, Chris with Chris Tordini / Dave King
Really OK
Laubrock, Ingrid & Tom Rainey
And Other Desert Towns
(Relative Pitch)
Golia, Vinny & Urs Leimgruber
Empiricism in the West
(Relative Pitch)
Bynum, Taylor Ho
Navigation (Possibility Abstracts XII & XIII) [2 CDs]
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Wooley, Nate
Seven Storey Mountain III and IV [2 CDs]
(Pleasure of the Text Records)
FPR (Gratkowski / Greenlief / Raskin)
All At Once
(Relative Pitch)
S.O.S. (John Surman, Mike Osborne, Alan Skidmore)
Looking For The Next One [2 CDs]
Digital Primitives
Lipsomuch & Soul Searchin' [2 CDs]
(Hopscotch Records)
Cline, Alex
For People in Sorrow [CD / DVD]
The Whammies (Dijkstra / Oliver / Karayorgis / Roebke / Bishop / Bennink)
Play The Music Of Steve Lacy: Vol. #2
(Driff Records)
Gregorio, Guillermo / Pandelis Karayorgis / Steve Swell
Window and Doorway
(Driff Records)
Mostly Other People Do the Killing
Slippery Rock
(Hot Cup Records)
Whammies, The (Djikstra / Karayorgis / Bishop / Oliver / McBride / Bennink)
Play The Music of Steve Lacy
(Driff Records)
Russell, Hal
NRG Ensemble
Paradoxical Frog
(Clean Feed)
Eisenstadt, Haris
Canada Day Octet
(482 Music)
Lehman, Steve Trio, feat. Matt Brewer and Damion Reid
Dialect Fluorescent
(Pi Recordings)
Price: $12.71
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 616892807728

Label: Animul
Catalog ID: ANI 105
Squidco Product Code: 6125

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2006
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve
April 5, 2005 at Acoustic Recording, Brooklyn, NY by Michael Brorby, June 5, 2005 at AudioCue, Berlin, Germany by Rainer Robben (track 10), November 13, 2005 at Park Place Studio, Brooklyn, NY (Tronzo) by Ned Rothenberg


Ned Rothenberg-bass clarinet, clarinet, alto sax

Stomu Takeishi-fretless bass guitar

Tony Buck-drums

Tronzo-slide guitar (2, 4, 5)

Joe Williamson-acoustic bass (10)

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Moment of Reloading (4:15)

2. Life in Your Years (7:04))

3. Food for a Rambling (4:25)

4. No Memes, Mom (8:41)

5. Paint Drum (7:38)

6. Brainy and Footsy (5:07)

7. Dream by Day (10:12)

8. The Violet Sheds (4:42)

9. Epic in Difference (15:17)

10. Ashes (7:38)