The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Live recordings from Roulette, NYC of Laura Andel's Electric Percussive Orchestra with Taylor Ho Bynum, Harvey Wirht, Kenta Nagai, Andrew Drury, Ursel Schlicht, David Simons, Kyoko Kitamura, and Khabu Young.

Andel, Laura
Electric Percussive Orchestra - In::tension:.

Andel, Laura: Electric Percussive Orchestra - In::tension:. (Rossbin)
Label: Rossbin    
Released in: Italy    

"Last year, I watched a film from Mongolia about a dog. Once the dog dies, its soul is free to travel and wonder through landscapes and memories as a disembodied spirit. Each part of In::tension:. is part of a longer journey, where you can hear, sense and discover different memories that a wandering soul revisits. Percussive, intimate, visceral, ritualistic and electrically charged, I n : : t e n s i o n : . explores tension points and internal pulses, glimpses and gestures in a non-narrative world."-Laura Andel. "Composer Laura Andel was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina and currently lives in New York City. She has conducted her music in New York, Boston, Berlin, Caracas, Buenos Aires and other cities. One of Andel's strengths is her ability to assemble large ensembles to play her compositions. She enjoys exploring diverse combinations of instruments and formats for her orchestras, as well as working with musicians from different musical and cultural backgrounds. Currently, she leads the Laura Andel Orchestra in several formations. Among the most recent are the 14-piece SomnambulisT Orchestra and the 10-piece Electric Percussive Orchestra."-Rossbin Commissioned in 2004 by Roulette withfunds from the Jerome Foundation.

"Taylor Ho Bynum (b. 1975) has spent his career navigating the intersections between structure and improvisation - through musical composition, performance and interdisciplinary collaboration, and through production, organizing, teaching, writing and advocacy. As heard on over twenty recordings as a bandleader, Bynum's expressionistic playing on cornet and his expansive vision as composer have garnered him critical attention as one of the singular musical voices of his generation. He currently leads his Sextet and 7-tette, and works with many collective ensembles including a duo with drummer Tomas Fujiwara, the improv trio Book of Three, the UK/US collaborative Convergence Quartet, the dance/music interdisciplinary ensemble Masters of Ceremony, and the trans-idiomatic little big band Positive Catastrophe.

His varied endeavors include his Acoustic Bicycle Tours (where he travels to concerts solely by bike across thousands of miles) and his stewardship of Anthony Braxton's Tri-Centric Foundation (which he serves as executive director, producing most of Braxton's recent major projects). In addition to his own bands, his ongoing collaboration with Braxton, past work with other legendary figures such as Bill Dixon and Cecil Taylor, and current collective projects with forward thinking peers, Bynum increasingly travels the globe to conduct community-based large ensembles in explorations of new creative orchestra music. He is also a published author and contributor to The New Yorker's Culture Blog, has taught at universities, festivals, and workshops worldwide, and has served as a panelist and consultant for leading funders and organizations. His work has received support from Creative Capital, the Connecticut Office of the Arts, Chamber Music America, New Music USA, USArtists International, and the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation."

-Taylor Ho Bynum website (

Related Categories of Interest:

April, 2006
Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Large Ensembles

Search for other titles on the Rossbin label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Midnight Doctors
Through A Screen And Into A Hole
Rudolph, Adam / GO:Organic Guitar Orchestra
Turning Towards The Light
Harrison / Feliciati / Vu / Powell / Weiss
Holy Abyss

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Cady, Jason
Happiness Is The Problem
(Lock Step Records)
Platz / Demos / Delvo / McLellan
Differential Equations
(Skycap Records)
Heads Full Of Poison
Exquisite Corpse [VINYL]
(Azul Discografica)
Bognetti / De Fabritiis / Fochesato / Galinari
Highly Publicized Digital Boxing Match
McManus, Terrence / Gerry Hemingway
Below the Surface Of
Roger, Danielle Palardy
Pinta, Nina & Maria
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Bynum, Taylor Ho
Book Of Three
Malaby, Tony
Tamarindo Live
(Clean Feed)
Labbe, Pierre
Tremblement de fer
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Brady, Tim
24 Frames - Trance [CD & DVD]
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Watkins, Zachary James
Suite for string quartet
Delta Saxophone Quartet
Uneasy Dreams [DVD]
Grassi, Lou Po Band With Marshall Allen
Live At The Knitting Factory Volume 1
(Porter Records)
Orfield, Sue Band
Tiptons, The
Strange Flower
The Tiptons
Lurie, Jessica Ensemble
Shop of Wild Dreams
Lurie, Jessica
Licorice and Smoke
Zorn, John
Naked City Black Box-20Th Anniversary Edition: Torture Garden / Leng Tch'e
Rothenberg / Volkov
Live in Dom - Duo Music for Nicolai Dmitriev
(DOM Records)
Ustvolskaya, Galina
Piano Sonatas 1-6
(Hat [now] ART)
Price: $15.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 8032603090135

Label: Rossbin
Catalog ID: RS022
Squidco Product Code: 6065

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2005
Country: Italy
Packaging: DVD snap case packaing without snap case in clear sleeve
Recorded live by Mario Diaz de León at The Roulette Concert Series at Location One, NYC, December 4, 2004


Kyoko Kitamura-voice, electronics

Taylor Ho Bynum-cornet

Carl Maguire-prepared fender rhodes, accordion

Ursel Schlicht-piano, prepared piano

Kenta Nagai-electric fretless guitar, electronics

Joel Harrison-electric guitar, electronics

Khabu Young-electric baritone guitar, electronics

David Simons-theremin, percussion

Andrew Drury-percussion

Harvey Wirht-drums

Laura Andel-composer, conductor

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Part I : : Noticias 6:53

2. Part II : : Resonancias 4:19

3. Part III : : Descuido 9:26

4. Part IV : : Caídas 6:55

5. Part V : : Puntos 10:19

6. Part VI : : Dos 8:51

7. Part VII : : Ecos 12:02