The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

For their 4th album the Elephant9 trio of Stale Storlokken, Nikolai Heangsle Eilertsen, and Torstein Lofthus, are joined by Reine Fiske, the Swedish guitarist from Dungen and The Amazing, for four extended tracks and a pysch cover blending rock and jazz in powerful ways.

Elephant9 w/ Reine Fiske
Silver Mountain

Elephant9 w/ Reine Fiske: Silver Mountain (Rune Grammofon)

Label: Rune Grammofon    
Released in: Norway    

"It's not often a jazz band takes the big step from the club scene to a 1300-capacity rock venue like Oslo's Rockefeller. But then again, Elephant9 is not your ordinary jazz band. Often cited as Norway's best live band -- surely quite rare for an instrumental band -- they are equally popular in jazz and rock circles.

On this, their fourth studio album, Elephant9 once again join forces with Reine Fiske, the Swedish guitarist from Dungen and The Amazing, for an epic slice of mindblowing modern rock 'n' jazz prog psychedelia. Silver Mountain is their finest album so far, a work on which all the parts fall into place. The core trio is still Stale Storlokken, Nikolai Heangsle Eilertsen, and Torstein Lofthus, three of Norway's finest musicians. Guest Reine Fiske brings another dimension to the band and is now so integrated that he might as well be considered a permanent member.

Silver Mountain contains five tracks between 10 and 22 minutes; four originals, plus the most spaced-out version of "You Are the Sunshine of My Life" you're likely to encounter."-Rune Grammofon

Also available on vinyl LP.

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Progressive Rock
Improvised Rock
Improvised Music
Trio Recordings
New in Rock Forms
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the Rune Grammofon label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Angels And Daemons At Play [6 CD BOX SET]
(Rune Grammofon)
Bushman's Revenge
Jazz, Fritt Etter Hukommelsen
(Rune Grammofon)
Mollestad, Hedvig Trio
Black Stabat Mater [VINYL]
(Rune Grammofon)
Mollestad, Hedvig Trio
Evil In Oslo [VINYL 2 LPs + CD]
(Rune Grammofon)
Krokofant II [VINYL]
(Rune Grammofon)
Krokofant II
(Rune Grammofon)
Supersonic Scientists: A Young Person's Guide to Motorpsycho [2 CDs]
(Rune Grammofon)
El Grande, Jono
Melody of a Muddled Mason [VINYL]
(Rune Grammofon)
El Grande, Jono
Melody of a Muddled Mason
(Rune Grammofon)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Conrad, Tony W/ Faust
Outside The Dream Syndicate
(Superior Viaduct)
She Sleeps, She Sleeps
(Rune Grammofon)
Ducret, Marc Trio + 3 (Chevillon / Echampard + Monniot / Blaser / Martinez)
Bjorkenheim, Raoul / eCsTaSy
Out Of The Blue
Morris, Joe
Solos - Bimhuis
(Relative Pitch)
Price: $16.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7033662021741

Label: Rune Grammofon
Catalog ID: RCD 2174CD
Squidco Product Code: 21093

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2016
Country: Norway
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at Kungsten studio in October 2014 by Mattias Glava.


Reine Fiske-electric guitar, acoustic guitar

Torstein Lofthus-drums

Nikolai Haengsle Eilertsen- bass, acoustic guitar

Stale Storlokken-organ, piano, synthesizer

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Occidentali 14:26

2. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life 10:04

3. Abhartach 9:21

4. Kungsten 20:05

5. The Above Ground Sound 22:02