The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Six rich and varied electro-acoustic instrumental works from an amazing quintet of brilliant improvisers: Anthony Pateras (keys); Will Guthrie (drums & percussion); Natasha Anders (bass & computer); Clayton Thomas (double bass) and Jerome Noetinger (tapes & electronics).

Mad Among The Mad

Thymolphthalein : Mad Among The Mad (Immediata)

Label: Immediata    
Released in: Australia    

"A Franco-Australian quintet active 2009-2013, Thymolphthalein worked in the field of live instrumental electro-acoustic music. Employing organizational frameworks stemming from open-from 20th/21st century composition, rhythmically-geared outsider electronics and systematized improvisational strategies, this is the music of the possible. Mad Among The Mad is the definitive document of six incredible electro-acoustic instrumental works performed by Thymolphthalein, following up their 2011 cult Editions Mego debut Ni Maitre, Ni Marteau. Featuring compositions and improvisations written collaboratively by the group, this disc has been meticulously recorded over 4 European cities, capturing the band at their peak."-Immediata

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Quintet Recordings
New in Improvised Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Immediata label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Mendoza, Ava / Maxime Petit / Will Guthrie
[7-inch VINYL]
Ensemble Phoenix Basel & Jerome Noetinger
Les Voix De L'Invisible [VINYL]
Burr, Anthony / Anthony Pateras
The Long Exhale
North Of North (Anthony Pateras / Scott Tinkler / Erkki Veltheim)
The Moment In and Of Itself
Astral Colonels (Anthony Pateras / Valerio Tricoli)
Good Times in the End Times
Extended Pianos (Fox / Griswold / Pateras)
Switch On A Dime
Hubweber / Schubert / Schlippenbach / Thomas / Wllers
Intricacies [2 CDs]
Kurzmann, Christof
Then & Now [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Daisy, Tim Trio
A Fine Day In Berlin
(Relay Records)
Strike (Clayton Thomas / Jon Rose / Mike Majkowski)
Wood, Wire & Sparks [VINYL]
Rose, Jon
Rosin [3 CDs + 1 Data Disk + Book]
(Recommended Records)
Noetinger, Jerome / Will Guthrie
Face Off
Ames Room, The
Bird Dies
(Clean Feed)
Thomas / Strid / Thomas
Noetinger, Jerome and Erik M
what a wonderful world

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Miimo 5
Miimo 3
Miimo 4
Elyakim, Dganit
Failing Better
(Aural Terrains)
Mazur, Rafel / Keir Neuringer
Diachronic Paths
(Relative Pitch)
Battus, Pascal / Dafne Vicente-Sandoval
[2 CDs]
Malfatti / Drumm / Capece
The Volume Surrounding The Task
Brooklyn Express, The (Fonda / Tononi / Cavallanti / Swell / Robertson)
No Time Left!
(Long Song Records)
Kay, Martin
(Herbal International)
La Casa, Eric with Jean-Luc Guionne
(Herbal International)
Price: $15.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 9345195005548

Label: Immediata
Catalog ID: IMM002
Squidco Product Code: 21044

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2015
Country: Australia
Packaging: Cardboard Gatefold w/ Booklet
Tracks 2 and 3 recorded at Salle des Fetes de Vandoeuvre-Les-Nancy, France, by Francois Cacic.

Track 4 recorded at Carre Bleu, Poitiers, France, by Mike Goupilleau.

Tracks 1 and 5 recorded live at Kino Siska, Ljubljana, Solvenia, by Anthony Pateras.

Track 6 recorded live at HooDoo, Prague.


Natasha Anderson-contrabass recorder, computer

Will Guthrie-drums, percussion

Jerome Noetinger-tape machines, electronics

Anthony Pateras-piano, Wurlitzer, modular synthesizer

Clayton Thomas-double bass

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Awareness Of Time Is An Assault On Time (Prague) 1:57

2. You Cannot Escape The 20th Century 18:49

3. Supreme Nothingness 9:49

4. Mad Among The World 13:03

5. It Doesn't Kill You, It Stops You Living 14:05

6. Awareness Of Time Is An Assault On Time (Ljubljana) 1:55