The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

An experimental music trio playing a joyously harrowing display of urgent bass & sax noise, skewed jazz elements, frantic but meticulous drumming and abrupt moodshifts, representative of the crossover of improv, noise rock and jazz currently made in Holland.

A Descent Into Maelstrom

Albatre: A Descent Into Maelstrom (Shhpuma)

Label: Shhpuma    
Released in: Portugal    

"Based in Rotterdam, and joining two Portuguese living in that city, Hugo Costa (alto sax) and Gonçalo Almeida (electric bass) to the German drummer Philipp Ernsting, the band Albatre plays a schizoid music which has free jazz and rock (as envisioned by punk and metal) as idiomatic poles. Everything immerged in distortion and with a sometimes heavy, sometimes crazily fast beat. But if the music is explosive and always searching for the maximum impact, very near of what is called noise - the noise of Fushitsusha, for instance -, there's a place for nuance and for detail, with the three contributors throwing intriguing elements to the magma of sound.

This is another facet of both Costa's and Almeida's careers, in everything its mercuric character distinguishing itself from, for instance, the lunar surfaces created by the trio Lama, another recent investment of the bassist we find here. Once more we have the proof that the generation of Portuguese musicians migrated to other European countries is going far in terms of creativity, non-conformism and even innovation, in a time when all factors seem to determine a homogeneity of styles.

The future belongs to them and this CD can be understood as the definitive indication of what is to come. Get ready..."-Shhpuma

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Improvised Rock
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Trio Recordings
Clean Feed
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Shhpuma label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Roji (Almeida / Schneider / Santos Silva)
The Hundred Headed Woman
Millevoi, Nick
Ich B!n Nintendo (Winther / Nergaard / Johansen)
Lykke [VINYL]
Ich B!n Nintendo (Winther / Nergaard / Johansen)
Camoes, Joao / Jean-Marc Foussat
A La Face du Ciel
Goncalves, Andre
Currents and Riptides
Nagual [VINYL]
Lama + Joachim Badenhorst (Silva / Smith / Almedia)
The Elephant's Journey
(Clean Feed)
Sa, Adriana / To Trips / John Klima
Raon, Eduardo
On the Drive For Impulsive Actions
Sa, Joana
Elogio Da Desordem (In Praise of Disorder)
Mirra, Helen / Ernst Karel
A Map Of Parallels 41-N And 49-N At A Scale Of Ten Seconds To One Degree
Frith, Fred And Helen Mirra
Kwangsi - quail [VINYL]
Gama, Joana / Luis Fernandez
Costa, Simao
Sa, Joana & Luis Jose Martins
Almost a Song
The Earworm Versions
Felizardo, Filipe
Guitar Soli for the Moa and the Frog
Moore, Thurston / Pedro Sousa / Gabriel Ferrandini
Live at ZDB [VINYL]

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Pinhas, Richard / Tatsuya Yoshida
Live In Japan
Spanish Fighters
Catchpole / Edwards / Prevost
Beyond the Barrier
PYN (Yoshida / Pittard / Nasuno)
Songs for children who don't want to sleep
Fall Line
Price: $15.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5609063800050

Label: Shhpuma
Catalog ID: SHH005CD
Squidco Product Code: 20395

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: Portugal
Packaging: Cardboard sleeve with insert
Recorded at Studio SanteBoutique, in Rotterdam, Holland in 2012 by Fonkletoff.


Hugo Costa-alto saxophone, loops

Goncalo Almeida-bass, effects

Phillip Ernsting-drums, electronics

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Nautilus 6:34

2. Maelstrom 7:19

3. Aphotic 7:03

4. Deep Trench 2:21

5. Vampyroteuthis Infernalis 4:02

6. Albatrossia 4:53

What are other customers searching for?