The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2018, Squidco LLC

Harada, Masashi

Condanction Ensemble (1999)

Harada, Masashi: Condanction Ensemble (1999) (Emanem)

Both eight and six-piece ensembles are conducted by Masashi Harada dancing. Artists include Greg Kelley, Tucker Dulin, Christian Pincock, Eric Carlson, Bhob Rainey, Aleta Cole, Dan Levin, Mike Bullock and Phil Tomasic.

Price: $16.95


Out of Stock

Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 5030243404124

Label: Emanem
Catalog ID: 4041
Squidco Product Code: 18331

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2000
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded by Michael Caglianone on December 14th, 1999 at 7A West Studio, Boston.


Greg Kelley-trumpet

Tucker Dulin-trombone

Christian Pincock-trombone

Eric Carlson-tuba

Bhob Rainey-soprano saxophone

Aleta Cole-violin

Dan Levin-cello

Mike Bullock-doublebass

Phil Tomasic-electric guitar

Masashi Harada-condanction

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Highlight an instrument above
and click here to Search for albums with that instrument.

Artist Biographies:

"Bhob Rainey is an award-winning composer / performer, saxophonist, and sound designer. He holds a Masters in Music Composition from New England Conservatory ('97), where he studied with iconoclastic microtonalist Joe Maneri, jazz legends Paul Bley and Ran Blake, and the mathematically gifted composer Pozzi Escot.

In 1998, with trumpeter Greg Kelley, Rainey founded the duo Nmperign, which was highly influential in an emerging phase of non-idiomatic improvisation often referred to as "lowercase" or "EAI" (Electroacoustic Improvisation). In 2000 he founded The BSC, an improvising large ensemble, in which he developed techniques for an improvisational discipline that were eventually outlined in his 2011 publication, Manual. Throughout the late 1990's and early 2000's he performed globally and collaborated with numerous improvisers across generations, including Axel Dörner, Andrea Neumann, Günter Müller, Michel Doneda, Lê Quan Ninh, and many others.

By the mid-2000's, while continuing to work in the realm of improvisation, Rainey began to produce electronic and algorithmic works. He spent five years collaborating with German composer Ralf Wehowsky (RLW) on the 2007 release, I don't think I can see you tonight, which, along with Nmperign and Jason Lescalleet's Love Me Two Times (2006), established him as a formidable electronic composer who synthesizes streams of Musique Concréte, computer music, and improvisation.

Throughout his career, Rainey has sought out cross-discipline collaborations, working especially with theater makers and choreographers. Since 2012 he has worked with theater company New Paradise Labs, composing for The Adults, which premiered at the 2014 Philadelphia Fringe Festival, and O Monsters (2016). He created the soundtrack to Leah Ross's 2013 film, Levitate, which premiered that year at the Rooftop Film Festival in New York City, and he performed live in Jungwoong Kim's and Marion Ramirez's site-specific dance work, Capsized, at the National Asian American Theater Festival in Philadelphia in 2014.

Rainey was awarded the Pew Fellowship in the Arts in 2013, and in 2014 he received a Subito grant from the American Composers Forum to complete a multimedia project with filmmaker Catherine Pancake. He is currently working with New Paradise Laboratories on a musically-driven follow up to O Monsters, with Jungwoong Kim on a multimedia dance installation, and with Leif Elggren and CM Von Hausswolff on the inauguration of the "Kingdom of Elgaland-Vargaland Embassy" in Philadelphia.

To date, Rainey has over 30 releases as a leader or co-leader."

-Bhob Rainey Website (

Have a better biography or biography source? Please Contact Us so that we can update this biography.
track listing:

1. Kropotkin Vs Huxley 12:53

2. Voices 2:28

3. Giacinto 8:11

4. Clarity Beneath The Cloud 8:04

5. Expulsion Of The Triumphant Beast 13:30

6. The Whipping Or String Of Lava 6:00

7. Cut Off 5:12

8. Tomasic Concerto 3:15

9. Bells 14:08
sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"Eight- and six-piece ensembles conducted by Harada's dancing. Participants are GREG KELLEY (trumpet), TUCKER DULIN & CHRISTIAN PINCOCK (trombones), ERIC CARLSON (tuba), BHOB RAINEY (soprano saxophone), ALETA COLE (violin), DAN LEVIN (cello), MIKE BULLOCK (double bass) & PHIL TOMASIC (electric guitar)."-Emanem

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Free Improvisation
Boston Area Improvisers
EMANEM & psi

Other Releases With These Artists:
Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the Emanem label.