The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Four works from composer/oboist Bruckmannm, including the 30 minute title track written for an 11-piece ensemble that includes his Wrack ensemble along with Tim Perkis, Gin Robair, the Rova saxophone ensemble.

Bruckmann, Kyle
On Procedural Grounds

Bruckmann, Kyle: On Procedural Grounds (New World Records)
Label: New World Records    
Released in: USA    

In his compositions, composer/performer Kyle Bruckmann (b. 1971) seeks to integrate rigor and internal logic with raw immediacy while fully engaging his fellow performers as not simply dutiful interpreters, but creatively invested collaborators. Aesthetically, the results evoke much from European modernism, but realized via idiosyncratic modular forms and process-oriented strategies equally indebted to the New York School and the jazz avant-garde.

On Procedural Grounds (2010) is a half-hour work conceived as the framework for a summit between his current Bay Area community and that of Chicago, his former home. The eleven-piece ensemble features his long-standing project Wrack together with boundary-defying West Coast pioneers Rova, Tim Perkis (of the League of Automatic Music Composers and the Hub) and Gino Robair. Orgone Accelerator (2010) was composed for 8-channel sound diffusion, and premiered at the 2011 San Francisco Tape Music Festival. The other two pieces are products of the unique creative environment of sfSound (the collective with which Bruckmann has performed the works of such composers as Braxton, Cardew, Feldman, Ferneyhough, Ligeti, Subotnick and Xenakis) and feature members of that ensemble. Cell Structure (2009) is a duet written for the composer on oboe and Matt Ingalls on clarinet, with an electronic accompaniment realized through modular analog synthesis. Tarpit (2009) is scored for an octet of winds, strings, and percussion with similarly pre-recorded electronics.

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
West Coast/Pacific US Jazz
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the New World Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Bruckmann's, Kyle Wrack
...Awaits Silent Tristero's Empire
(Singlespeed Music)
East-West Collective (Petit / Ochs / Masaoka / Fengxia / Kassap)
FPR (Gratkowski / Greenlief / Raskin)
All At Once
(Relative Pitch)
Ezramo / Robair / Fenech / Buchler feat. Argo Ulva
Skronktet West, The
Cleveland, Barry
(MoonJune Records)
Diaz-Infante / Rodrigues / Robair / Mota
Our Faceless Empire
Bruckmann, Kyle
(Red Toucan)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Akama, Ryoko / Bruno Duplant / Dominic Lash
Next To Nothing
(Another Timbre)
Parker, Evan ElectroAcoustic Septet
Evans, Peter Quintet
Destination: Void
(More Is More)
Mazurek, Rob Exploding Star Orchestra Featuring Roscoe Mitchell
Matter Anti-Matter, Sixty-Three Moons Of Jupiter & Electronic Works [2 CDs]
Vandermark's, Ken Topology Nonet w/ Joe McPhee
Impressions of Po Music
Lopes, Luis Humanization 4tet
Live in Madison
Gonzalez, Dennis Yells at Eels
Colorado at Clinton
Dresser, Mark Quintet
(Clean Feed)
Slobber Pup
Black Aces [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Rarenoise Records)
S.O.S. (John Surman, Mike Osborne, Alan Skidmore)
Looking For The Next One [2 CDs]
Perelman, Ivo / Matthew Shipp / William Parker / Gerald Cleaver
Lama + Chris Speed
(Clean Feed)
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Plays Monk (Amendola / Goldberg / Hoff)
Plays Monk
(Long Song Records)
McPhee, Joe
The Loneliest Woman [CD EP]
(Corbett vs. Dempsey)
Mostly Other People Do the Killing
Slippery Rock
(Hot Cup Records)
Maroney / Ilgenfritz / Niescier / Drury
Mind Games
(OutNow Recordings)
Price: $13.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 093228072522

Label: New World Records
Catalog ID: 80725-2
Squidco Product Code: 16018

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded on October 3rd, 2010 at Guerilla Audio, Oakland, CA. Recorded on June 29th & August 24th, 2011 at New, Improved Recording, Oakland, CA.


Kyle Bruckmann-oboe

Jen Clare Paulson-viola

Jason Stein-bass clarinet

Anton Hatwich-contrabass

Timothy Daisy-percussion

Rova Saxophone Quartet: Bruce Ackley, Larry Ochs, Jon Raskin, Steve Adams

Gino Robair-live electronics, prepared piano

Tim Perkis-live electronics

Matt Ingalls-bass clarinet

John Ingle-alto saxophone

Benjamin Kreith-violin

Tara Flandreau-viola

Monica Scott-cello

Kjell Nordesen-percussion, electronics

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Cell Structure 11:24

2. On Procedural Grounds 29:23

3. Orgone Accelerator 8:06

4. Tarpit 16:06