The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Sub Rosa's 6th volume of the highly-acclaimed "Anthology Of Noise & Electronic Music" series, with works from 1957-2010 including John Duncan, Stephen O' Malley, Z'ev, Dick Raaymakers, &c. &c.

Various Artists
An Anthology Of Noise & Electronic Music Volume 6 [2 CDs]

Various Artists: An Anthology Of Noise & Electronic Music Volume 6 [2 CDs] (Sub Rosa)
Label: Sub Rosa    
Released in: Belgium    

"Sub Rosa presents the sixth volume and penultimate installment of the highly-acclaimed and successful Anthology Of Noise & Electronic Music series. As usual, it culls old historical pieces, little-known gems, and even a few previously-unreleased tracks from the greatest Japanoise bands, a few representatives of the younger generations (from all around the world), and some rare tracks from the '80s, and it all ends with a lull that lets transpire what may be felt as a kind of indefinable mystery.

The avant-garde ushered in the possibility of a new music, then it scattered into small communities whose best-known protagonists are totally unknown to people outside that particular circle. We are facing this fragmentation, and one form of avant-garde ends up scattered into several (not exclusively musical) forms. It is not in avant-garde's nature to create one elementary form for each individual. Other phrases used include "forays," "breakthroughs," "pushing the envelope," and then, of course, "going too far." Tracks on this sixth volume comprise more than 2 1/2 hours of music, with many rare and unpublished tracks."-Sub Rosa

Housed in a 2CD digipack sleeve, including a 52-page booklet full of notes and biographical info.

Related Categories of Interest:

Sound, Noise, &c.
Electronic Forms
Various Artists & Compilations
Historical Recordings

Search for other titles on the Sub Rosa label.

Other Recommended Releases:
L'Ensemble Volta
Les Nuages de Magellan
(Recommended Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Distel, Herbert
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Ughi, Federico Quartet (Ughi / Schug / Knuffke / Johnson)
Federico Ughi Quartet
Ehrlich's Rites Quartet, Marty
Frog Leg Logic
(Clean Feed)
Zorn, John
What Thou Wilt
Allen / Shipp / Morris
Night Logic
Mitchell, Nicole Sonic Projections
Emerald Hills
Meier, Tommy Root Down
The Master And The Rain
Favre / Schaufelberger
Favre / Blaser
Vol A Voile
Masada String Trio; John Zorn (Saxophone)
Haborym: The Book Of Angels Volume 16
Bynum, Taylor Ho Sextet
Asphalt Flowers Forking Paths
Ussachevsky, Vladimir
Electronic and Acoustic Works 1957-1972
(New World Records)
Blonk, Jaap & Fuhler, Cor
Pre-Zoic Cellways
(Hat [now] ART)
Price: $14.00
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Housed in a 2CD digipack sleeve, including a 52-page booklet full of notes and biographical info.

UPC: 5411867112907

Label: Sub Rosa
Catalog ID: SR 290CD
Squidco Product Code: 13308

Format: 2 CDs
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Belgium
Packaging: Digipack Double CD
Recordings from 1957-2010.


Artists include: Tetsuo Furudate, Stephen O' Malley (Sunn O)))), Pain Jerk, Z'ev, Hijokaidan, John Duncan, Manuel Rocha Iturbide, Robert Piotrowicz, Incapacitants, Sachiko M, Torturing Nurse, IsraÃ"l Martinez, Ata Ebtekar/Sote, Daniel Menche, John Wiese, Joseph Nechvatal, Henry Cowell, Pain Barrier, Julie Rousse, Dick Raaymakers, Ultraphonist, Tzvi Avni, Else Marie Pade, ILIOS, Bird Palace/Cristian Vogel + Pablo Palacio, and Stummer + Liesl Ujvary. See track listing for full artist list.

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

Disc 1

1. ISRAÃ - Mi Vida (2007)

2. ATA EBTEKAR/SOTE - Turquoise Gas In Ice (2008) - unpublished

3. JOSEPH NECHVATAL - Ego Masher (1983)

4. OLIVER STUMMER + LIESL UJVARY - Trautorium Jetztzeit #4 (1930 Sound)

5. HENRY COWELL - The Banshee (1925 > 57)

6. DICK RAAYMAKERS - Piano-forte (1959-60)

7. MANUEL ROCHA ITURBIDE - Estudio Antimatierico No.1 (1989)

8. TETSUO FURUDATE - (2008) - UNPUBLISHED - You are the man who crucified him - (2008) - unpublished

9. KOHEI GOMI/PAIN JERK - Aufheben (1993) - unpublished

10. HIJOKAIDAN - Untitled (unreleased studio outtake, recorded on 24th, Oct. 1994) - unpublished

11. INCAPACITANTS - Shall We Die? (1990) - unpublished

12. TORTURING NURSE - Yes Or No (2010) - unpublished

13. SACHIKO M - 2808200 (2000)

14. ULTRAPHONIST - How To Practice Scales (2000)

Disc 2

1. Z'EV - 12 November 1980, Melkweg, Amsterdam (1980) - unpublished

2. DANIEL MENCHE - Fulmination (2009) - unpublished

3. JOHN WIESE - New Wave Dust (2004)


5. JULIE ROUSSE - Flesh Barbie Techno Fuck (2008)

6. BIRD PALACE/CRISTIAN VOGEL + PABLO PALACIO - Phing (2009) - unpublished

7. ROBERT PIOTROWICZ - Lincoln Sea Ice Walic (2009) - unpublished

8. TZVI AVNI - Vocalise (1964)

9. ELSE MARIE PADE - Syv Cirkler (1958)

10. JOHN DUNCAN - The Nazca Transmissions #2 (2005)

11. STEPHEN O' MALLEY - Dolmens & Lighthouses (2009) - unpublished

12. ILIOS/DIMITRIS KARIOFILIS - The Continuum Of Emanation From The One (2009) - unpublished