The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The 5th volume of this essential series documenting historical high points of electro-acoustic and sound music, v5 explores work from the 60's through the 2000s.

Various Artists
An Anthology of Noise & Electronic Music Volume 5

Various Artists: An Anthology of Noise & Electronic Music Volume 5 (Sub Rosa)
Label: Sub Rosa    
Released in: Belgium    

"Sub Rosa presents the fifth volume of the highly-acclaimed and successful Anthology of Noise & Electronic Music series. This installment highlights pieces illustrating a technique (Claude Ballif's "Points, Mouvements"), a country ("Shur, Op. 15" by Alireza Mashayekhi), a studio (Helmut Lachenmann at the IPEM), and historic (François Bernard Mâche's "Prélude"), and radical ("Spectrum Ripper" by Masonna/Yamazaki "Maso" Takushi) works that have ripped apart ancient definitions. All this organized with internationalism in mind and, for once, a focus on the voice - not as sung words, their traditional facet in music (from pop songs to lieder and operas), but as the word itself, recited, distorted, rendered abstract or disaggregated and screamed (the incantation so often a part of rock and noise music). Like the previous four volumes, this fifth installment is an absolute must for anyone interested in the roots and history of electronic music, with many previously unpublished, rare tracks comprising more than 2 ? hours of music. The 2CD comes in a deluxe digipack sleeve with an extensive 54-page booklet."-Sub Rosa

Related Categories of Interest:

Electro-Acoustic Improv
Organized Sound and Sample Based Music
Sound, Noise, &c.
Electronic Forms
Various Artists & Compilations
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Sub Rosa label.

Price: $17.95
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 6.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5411867112709

Label: Sub Rosa
Catalog ID: SR 270CD
Squidco Product Code: 9211

Format: 2 CDs
Condition: New
Released: 2008
Country: Belgium
Packaging: 2 CDs in a gatefold double digipak

Charlemagne Palestine (USA)

Père Ubu (USA)

Sutcliffe Jügend (UK)

Li Chin Sung aka Dickson Dee (Hong Kong)

Alireza Mashayekhi (Iran)

Rogelio Sosa (Mexico)

Christian Galaretta (Peru)

François-Bernard Mâche (France)

Richard Maxfield (USA)

Wolf Vostell (Germany)

André Boucourechliev (Bulgaria)

Helmut Lachenmann (Germany)

Claude Ballif (France)

Mauricio Kagel (Argentina)

Vladimir Mayakovsky (Russia)

Raoul Hausmann (Germany)

Gil Joseph Wolman (France)

Léo Kupper (Belgium)

Josef Anton Riedl (Germany)

Sten Hanson + Henri Chopin (Sweden + France)

Dajuin Yao (China)

Ground Zero (Japan)

Masonna (Japan)

Club Moral (Belgium)

Dub Taylor (USA)

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

CD 1

1. Rogelio Sosa - Vinylika (2003) 7:02

2. Christian Galaretta - Maranon part VI (2004) 10:25

3. Li Chin Sung aka Dickson Dee - Shame (1994-2007) 4:58

4. François-Bernard Mâche - Prélude (1959) 5:30

5. Richard Maxfield - Pastoral Symphony (1960) 4:02

6. Wolf Vostell - Elektronicher dé-collage. Happening Raum (1968) 2:59

7. Charlemagne Palestine - Seven Organism Study(1968) 7:53

8. André Boucourechliev - Texte 2 (1959) 4:36

9. Helmut Lachenmann - Scenario (1965) 12:30

10. Alireza Mashayekhi - Shur, Op.15 (1966) 6:29

11. Claude Ballif - Points, Mouvements (1962) 10:14

CD 2

1. Mauricio Kagel - Antithèse (1962) 9:26

2. Vladimir Mayakovsky - And would you ? (1920 restructured at the end of 30:s) 0:34

3. Raoul Hausmann - fmsbw (1918 recorded in 1956-57 by Henri Chopin) 0:50

4. Gil Joseph Wolman - Mégapneumies, 24 mars 1963 (1963) 4:40

5. Léo Kupper - Electro-poème (1963/70) 6:30

6. Josef Anton Riedl - Leonce und Lena (1963) 2:21

7. Sten Hanson + Henri Chopin - Tête à tête (1973) 5:09

8. Dajuin Yao - Satisfaction of Oscillation (1997) 9:30

9. Père Ubu - Sentimental journey (1978) 7:01

10. Ground Zero - Live (1992) 1:04

11. Masonna / Yamazaki "Maso" Takushi - Spectrum Ripper (part I-II-III) (1996-97) 3:23

12. Sutcliffe Jügend - Blind Ignorance (2007) 5:43

13. Club Moral - L'enfer est intime (1985) 6:30

14. Dub Taylor - Lumière part 1 (1972) 17:03