The Squid's Ear Magazine





  American Express

© 2002-2014, Squidco LLC

Philadelphia guitarist-songwriter Nick Millevoi (Many Arms, Archer Spade) in a solo release of compositions for 12-string guitar using alternative tuning, played with a mix of melodic skill and gutsy intensity.

Millevoi, Nick
Black Figure of a Bird

Millevoi, Nick:  Black Figure of a Bird

Label: New Atlantis    
Released in: USA    

"Guitarist-songwriter Nick Millevoi has a visceral understanding of using space to communicate his messages. His new recording Black Figure of a Bird makes optimal use of space from the passionate guitar flares interspersed along "Warm Green Discs" to the sparse intervals ruminating through "Life in Ice" comprised of curt percussive trickles and pierced sporadically by fiercely cutting guitar shreds.

Millevoi tickles the guitar strings lightly across "What Sunlight Does Make It Through" countered by the rippling chords in the track discharging wildly and forming taut knots. Millevoi displays the versatility inherent in different chord combinations bending them, teasing them, and changing the girth of the notes as he does in "Signpost." The feral biting of the guitar chords in "Bruxer" produce an aggressive tugging and straining along the movements which travels into a meditative glint through "Nothing Forms a Liquid" as the chime-like chords resound like a choir of delicately swinging bells

Nick Millevoi shows a freedom in his compositions that inspires ingenuity and unconformity. Black Figure of a Bird communicates Millevoi's innermost thoughts and converts them into a musical form that he shares with his audience liberating the mind of conventional structures."-New Atlantis

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Guitarists, &c.
Solo Artist Recordings
Friends of Squid

Search for other titles on the New Atlantis label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Pillar Without Mercy
New Atlantis Octet
Unto the Sun
(Not Two Records)
5678765 [CASSETTE]
(New Atlantis)
Ajemian & the HighLife, Jason
Riding the Light into the Bird's Eye
(Sundmagi Records)
Matta Gawa
(New Atlantis)
Psychotic Quartet
Cordyceps [CASSETTE]
(New Atlantis)
Infinite Teeth [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Joy Mega
Forever is Something Inside You
(New Atlantis)
Hush Arbors
2 of Us Riding Nowhere [CASSETTE]
(New Atlantis)
Many Arms
Missing Time

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Dog Faced Hermans
Humans Fly / Every Day Timebomb
(Loveletter Recordings)
Wet Ink Ensemble
(Carrier Records)
Pasborg, Stephan
Free Moby Dick
(Ilk Music)
4th Ward Afro Klezmer Orchestra
Abdul the Rabbi
(Afro Klezmer Music)
Ligeia Mare
(Ligeia Mare)
Perelman, Ivo with Sirius Quartet
The Passion According To G.H.
Elephant9 with Reine Fiske
(Rune Grammofon)
Neue Volksmusik
Silverman, Ken
Sunshine Soldier
(Henkel / Carlson / Stardrum)
(Prom Night Records)
Frith, Fred
Live in Japan
(ReR/ Fred Records)
Tazartes, Ghedalia
Les Danseurs de la Pluie [3" CD]
(Alga Marghen)
Price: $6.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 613285873827

Label: New Atlantis
Catalog ID: NA-CD-003
Squidco Product Code: 17116

Format: CD
Condition: Sale (New)
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardstock gatefold foldover
Recorded by Eric Carbonara at Nada Sound Studio in September 2010.


Nick Millevoi-12-string electric guitar

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Warm Green Discs 3:05

2. Life in Ice 3:34

3. What Sunlight Does Make It Through 9:00

4. Signpost 2:09

5. Bruxer 1:28

6. Nothing Forms a Liquid 6:31

New In:
Recent Releases
Rock & Related