The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A darkly melodic album from composer, singer, and musician Alec K. Redfearn whose songs explore the mysteries of life and death in unique, creative ways using unusual instrumentation.

Redfearn, Alec K. and The Eyesores
Sister Death

Redfearn, Alec K. and The Eyesores: Sister Death (Cuneiform)
Label: Cuneiform    
Released in: USA    

"Alec K. Redfearn and the Eyesores have been making uniquely rewarding music for over 15 years. They are one of the great uncategorizable, creative ensembles of our time, crafting a music that is distinctly theirs alone.

Many buzzwords have been used to describe the band's playing and Redfearn's composing and arranging, but they all fall short of conveying the dark beauty of the music and lyrics. Sister Death explores the mysteries of life, death, love, loss, creation and destruction, subjects that have informed Redfearn's songwriting since the early 90s. It is their 7th album, their most widely approachable release and features striking artwork and photographs!

The group's unmistakable sound is the result of Alec's songs, which have poignant melodies and lyrics filled with doom-laden imagery. These songs are performed by a band who use unusual instrumentation (male and female vocals, accordion, double bass, French horn, organ, drums, percussion, electronics + many musical guests) in interesting and creative ways. The music touches on elements of Americana, folk, European cabaret, minimalism, noise, and progressive rock, but it ultimately transcends all categories except for 'excellence'."-Cuneiform

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Progressive Rock
Song Based Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Cuneiform label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Palermo, Ed Big Band
One Child Left Behind
The Lady With
The Lady With The Monkey
Upsilon Acrux
Sun Square Dialect
(New Atlantis)
Upsilon Acrux
Sun Square Dialect [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Vliet, Don Van (Captain Beefheart) and The Magic Band
Rough Raw and Amazing [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Ozit Records)
Ubu, Pere
Carnival Of Souls [LP Gold Vinyl Ltd Ed]
(Fire Records)
Le Ton Mite
Version D'Un Ouvrage Traduit
(Music a la Coque)
Heads Full Of Poison
Robinson, Jason
Tiresian Symmetry
Smith, Wadada Leo
Ten Freedom Summers [4 CDs]
Janel & Anthony
Where Is Home [VINYL]
Hollmer, Lars
Med Mjolad Hand / With Floury Hand [CD + NTSC (All Region) DVD]
Positive Catastrophe
Dibrujo, Dibrujo, Dibrujo
Sao Paulo Underground (Featuring Rob Mazurek)
Tres Cabecas Loucuras
(Cuneiform )
Harrison / Feliciati / Vu / Powell / Weiss
Holy Abyss
(Cuneiform )
Thinking Plague
Decline and Fall
(Cuneiform )

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Zorn, John
On Leaves Of Grass
Zion80 (John Zorn)
Adramelech: The Book Of Angels Volume 22
Drake, Bob
Bob's Drive-In
(Recommended Records)
Redfearn, Alec K. and The Eyesores
The Blind Spot
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 045775034423

Label: Cuneiform
Catalog ID: Rune 344
Squidco Product Code: 16870

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Engineered and mixed by Keith Souza and Seth Manchester at Machines With Magnets in Pawtucket, Rhode Island in Fall 2011.


Alec K. Redfearn-voice, accordion, synths, baritone ukulele

Frank Difficult-percussive racket, electronics

Orion Rigel Dommisse-voice, Acetone Top 5 organ, Hammond B3, Wurlitzer electric piano

Mark Elliott-doumbek

Matt McLaren-drums, percussion

Chris Sadlers-contrabass, electric bass

Ann Schattle-horn

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Fire Shuffle 7:55

2. Unawake 2:24

3. The 7 and 6 5:41

4. Longreach 3:04

5. Amplifier Hum 2:24

6. Black Ice 3:33

7. Exhumed 4:21

8. Scratch 4:08

9. Hashishin 7:51

10. St. James Infirmary / Headless Emcee 5:43

11. Wings of the Magpie 4:21

12. In the Morning 2:57

What are other customers searching for?