The Squid's Ear Magazine





  American Express

© 2002-2014, Squidco LLC

A chilly concept album by the anti-pop group The Residents aided by Chris Culter and Don Preston, attempting to recreate the ceremonial music of the Eskimo which, although divided into six tracks, should be played as a whole.

Residents, The

Residents, The:  Eskimo (MVD Audio)
Label: MVD Audio    
Released in: USA    

"The Residents had passed their own punk stage in 1976 with the release of Satisfaction and were feeling that 1979 disco, while using the studio in new ways, did not actually offer much in the way of depth. So they decided it was a good time to make the jump into world music, since by their own calculations it was not to become popular for several more years. They scanned the map for a proper culture to exploit. Immediately they realized the North Pole had been overlooked because it is made of ice and therefore not on a world map."-MVD Audio

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Cutler, Chris

Search for other titles on the MVD Audio label.

Price: $12.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 760137545323

Label: MVD Audio
Catalog ID: MVD 5453CD
Squidco Product Code: 16696

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded between April 1976 and May 1979.


The Residents-arrangements, vocals, instruments

Chris Cutler-drums

Don Preston-synthesizer

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. The Walrus Hunt 4:02

2. Birth 4:32

3. Arctic Hysteria 5:57

4. The Angry Angakok 5:20

5. A Spirit Steals A Child 8:42

6. The Festival Of Death 10:30

What are other customers searching for?

New In:
Recent Releases
Rock & Related