The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A 13-part song cycle from alto saxophonist Darius Jones and pianist Matthew Shipp, an engrossing and emotional journey of beauty and turbulence through sympathetic dialog.

Jones, Darius & Matthew Shipp
Cosmic Lieder

Jones, Darius & Matthew Shipp: Cosmic Lieder (Aum Fidelity)
Label: Aum Fidelity    
Released in: USA    

"Cosmic Lieder, an exquisite & expansive 13-part song-cycle, is a deeply emotional & illuminated narrative by two highly attuned and intelligent musical voices commenting on an alien world's landscape as they are simultaneously creating it. The songs range from entrancingly lyrical & gentle to mercurial flows to pieces which defy common description.

This momentous duo project exists because of the mutual admiration that Darius Jones & Matthew Shipp have for one another's prodigious musical gifts, and it bridges two generations of distinctly shining lights in the jazz world. Shipp, now celebrating his 50th year on this planet, is a veteran of invention and one of the few truly original pianists in jazz history. Jones is a profoundly gifted young alto saxophonist-composer-bandleader whose 2009 debut, Man'ish Boy, received an across-the-board wave of critical acclaim - it was chosen as among the best Jazz Albums of 2009 by Village Voice-Jazz Critics Poll, NPR, JazzTimes, Boston Globe, Destination:Out, RVANews, AccuJazz and many more."-Aum Fidelity

See all items in the Aum Fidelity category

Related Categories of Interest:

Aum Fidelity

Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv

Search for other titles on the Aum Fidelity label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Jungle: Mat Walerian / Matthew Shipp / Hamid Drake
Live at Okuden [2 CDs]
Little Women
(Aum Fidelity)
Shipp, Matthew
Greatest Hits
(Thirsty Ear)
Grass Roots (Darrius Jones)
Grass Roots
(Aum Fidelity)
Ughi, Federico
Songs For Four Cities
(Skycap Records)
Jones Quartet, Darius
Book Of Mae'bul (Another Kind of Sunrise)
(Aum Fidelity)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Bynum Sextet, Taylor Ho
Apparent Distance
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Ducret, Marc
Tower, vol. 2
Tippett, Keith Octet
From Granite To Wind
Parker, Evan & Matthew Wright
Trance Map
Parker, William
Conversations By William Parker [BOOK + CD]
Brown, Rob
Unknown Skies
Eisenstadt, Harris
September Trio
(Clean Feed)
EMJO (European Jazz Movement Orchestra)
EMJO Live in Coimbra
(Clean Feed)
Heberer, Thomas Clarino
(Clean Feed)
Coxhill / Ward
Old Sights New Sounds
Whobub [2 CDs]
Morris, Joe & Agusti Fernandez
(Riti Records)
Shipp / Beans / Parker / HPrizm
Knives From Heaven
(Thirsty Ear)
Bertoncini, Tiziana / Thomas Lehn
Horsky Park
(Another Timbre)
Anderson, Ray / Han Bennink / Christy Doran
Eskelin, Ellery / Andrea Parkins / Jim Black
One Great Day
Dixon, Bill
Levin, Daniel
Inner Landscape
(Clean Feed)
Dessen, Michael Trio
Forget the Pixel
(Clean Feed)
Chevillon, Bruno / Berne, Tim
Old and Unwise
(Clean Feed)
Price: $13.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 642623306628

Label: Aum Fidelity
Catalog ID: AUM 066CD
Squidco Product Code: 14267

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: USA
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded by Michael Marciano on October 29th, 2010 at Systems Two Studio in Brooklyn, NY.


Darius Jones-alto saxophone

Matthew Shipp-piano

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Bleed 3:08

2. Ultima Thule 4:06

3. Zillo Vaila 3:23

4. Multiverse 3:37

5. Mandrakk 3:10

6. Overvoid 2:37

7. Weeja Dell 3:42

8. Motherboxxx 2:43

9. Black Lightning 2:17

10. Nix Uton 3:03

11. Jonesy 2:21

12. 4-D Vision 3:07

13. Geh-Jedollah 2:38